answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-05 21:49:45
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runner on 1st balk is called on pitcher before the batter hits the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


What happens to the batter when there is runner interferecnce?

Nothing happens to the batter. The runner who interfered is called out.


What happens to a runner when theres batter interference?

The ball is dead and all runner go back there base the batter is called out ...


What is a sucide squeeze?

A suicide squeeze is when the runner on third breaks for home on the pitch, committing himself before the batter hits the ball. It is called "suicide" because if the batter misses the bunt and the catcher catches it cleanly, the runner will likely be out.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


How do you steal home?

A steal of home is exciting, but rarely done in modern baseball. In contrast, Ty Cobb stole home 54 times! The classic or "pure" steal is where the runner steals with no help from the batter. For example, if the runner notices the pitcher is not holding him close and/or the 3rd baseman is way off the bag, the runner can get a walking lead or a large secondary lead and then take off as the pitcher is still winding up and then try to score. The element of surprise often makes this successful. There are two squeeze bunt plays that can be called by the coach that allow the runner on 3rd to score. However, if successful, it is due to the hit of the batter and is therefore not technically a steal. a. Safety squeeze, a play called by the coach. The runner runs home after seeing the batter (who is of course also in on the play) bunt successfully anywhere EXCEPT to the pitcher. That is, if the bunt is left or right of the pitcher, the runner takes off and attempts to score. b. Suicide squeeze. Here the runner assumes the batter will indeed make contact with a bunt and assumes it will not be hit in the air and caught (opening up double play risks). When the play is called, the runner simply takes off and trusts the batter to bunt successfully. Very risky. Note that there are 28 ways or situations in which a runner on 3rd can score in baseball. These are 3 of them.


Is a batted ball fair or foul if it strikes a runner while he is on base?

It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.


What are the four ways a batter can get out in softball?

1. 3 strikes are called ("strikeout") 2. the ball hit by the batter is caught before hitting the ground ("flyout") 3. first baseman catches the ball before the batter runs there 4. the batter doesn't stand in the batter's box 5. the batter runs to a base that has already been tagged ("tagged" or "tag play") 6. the runner is tagged with the ball before reaching a base 7. the runner goes more than 3 feet out of the base line to avoid being tagged 8. the runner doesn't touch the bases (the runner is allowed to run past first but must touch second and third) 9. a fielder holding the ball touches a base, that is the only remaining base to which the runner can go, before the runner gets there


What do you call it in softball when a player must run to the next base because the batter has become a base runner?

It's called a force. The runner is being forced to proceed to the next base by the batter/runner.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


How can you have more than three strikeouts in an inning?

In baseball, in order for a batter to be called out after the third strike, the catcher must catch the ball without it hitting the ground. If he does not, and there is no runner on first base, or there are two outs, the batter becomes a batter-runner. At this point, in order to make the out, the catcher must either tag the runner, or throw the ball to first for a force-out. Regardless of the outcome of the play, the pitcher is still awarded a strike-out. As an illustration, a pitcher can face two batters, and strike them both out. A third batter comes to the plate, receives three strikes against him, but due to an uncaught third strike, reach first. A fourth batter can then come to the plate, strike-out, and thus award the pitcher with his fourth strike-out in the inning.


Does batters interference have to be intentional?

No, any type of interference is against the rule. It is similar to a pitcher unintentionally hitting a batter. As it is true that the interference does not have to be intentional, there are occasions where there might be "interference" that is not called as such. i.e If a batter takes a pitch and a runner is stealing a base, if the catcher throws the ball and hits the batter or his bat, while the batter is still standing in the box, this is not called interference

People also asked