answersLogoWhite

0

A balk can only be called when the ball is live. If a batter has been awarded time out, then play has stopped, and a balk is impossible. It's safer for the pitcher to complete the pitch, just in case the batter isn't awarded time out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

BeauBeau
You're doing better than you think!
Chat with Beau
ViviVivi
Your ride-or-die bestie who's seen you through every high and low.
Chat with Vivi
BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake
More answers
One Answer:A balk can only be called on the pitcher. A balk is when a pitcher interrupts the pitching motion. Another Answer:In addition to the usual and commonly known reasons for a balk, here are a few others:

Rule 4.03 - If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. All other players must be in fair territory (for example, if a first or third baseman is straddling the bag holding a runner on, both feet must be in fair territory) at the time the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, or it is a balk.

Rule 7.07 - If a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and a fielder or the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk (charged against the pitcher).

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
User Avatar

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

catcher's balk A rarely called violation of catcher's interference charged as a balk when a catcher leaves the catcher's box before the pitch is delivered, especially on an Intentional Base On Balls (IBB). The balk penalty would award the batter first base and any runners would advance.

[Official Baseball Rules, 2004 Edition, published by Triumph Books], Rule 4.03(a)

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

Yes. A balk can only be called if the catcher is out of the catchers box BEFORE the ball leaves the pitchers hand though. And any balk is charged on the pitcher

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
User Avatar

No.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In baseball how can the catcher commit a balk?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp