Best Answer

Yes, once instance when the batter would give a signal is when (s)he understood the signal that was given by the third base coach. This signal could be the batter touching the helmet after the signal was given by the coach or maybe reaching down to grab a handful of dirt. Sometimes you will see the batter call time and walk down to the third base coach to have a discussion. This could be because the batter did not understand the signal given by the coach.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-04-13 16:15:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is there anytime a batter would sign or give signals to his coaches or teammates?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a mbl baseball batter be replaced at anytime?

An MLB batter can be replaced anytime during the game but once the batter is batting the coach must wait till he is on base or after their team bats.

Why does a batter who makes the last out not go to dugout to get his glove?

because one of his teammates will bring it to him.

When can a batter not bunt?

A batter can bunt anytime ...whether it's wise to bunt is a different story.

If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.

Does batter at bat count if walked on wild pitch and runner on third gets third out trying to steal home?

Anytime a batter is walked it does not count as an at bat

Who can call a timeout in softball?

Only the players on the field,the umpire,the coaches,and the batter or the runners. Nobody in the dug-out can call time out or the fans watching the game. You may wonder why the players on the field or the runners/batter can call it is because if their shoe laces are untied and if they are hurt in anyway that the umpires and coaches need to know about if it's serious.

Why do softball coaches yell numbers and letters at their players when they are up to bat?

It could be signs that the coach is giving the batter or as a form of cheering or encouragement

Is it against the rules to steal the catcher's signals?

No, but if the other team thinks it is going happening, the batter will probably get one in the ear.

When does a batter need to be tagged after dropping strike 3?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.

Is there a way the batter can reach first safely when the infield fly rule is in effect and the batter hits an infield fly?

No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.

When can a coach choose to automatically walk a batter?

Anytime a batter is at the plate, a pitcher and catcher can agree to throw nothing but balls to that batter. However, no pitcher would do so without getting an order from the manager to do so -- but, again, the manager can make that decision at any time the batter is at the plate. It is NORMALLY done as soon as the batter arrives at the plate. But, if a manager orders a pitcher to throw four un-hittable balls after the batter has swung and missed badly on the first two pitches, that would not be a violation of the rules.

Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice

People also asked