answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule)

The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-17 21:32:30
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out when he hits his own player with a hit ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batter is hit by a ball in the batter's box after he hits the ball what is the call?

foul ball


Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


Is it a dead ball if the ball hits the ground before the batter hits it?

No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it.


How can you rewrite ''the batter hits the ball into the outfield.'' into to an imperative?

Batter hit the ball into the outfield.


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.


If a pitch hits the batters hand but the batter does not swing is it a strike?

If the batter does not swing at the ball and it hits him in the hand, it is not a strike and the player is able to walk to first base. If a batter is hit with a ball and the batter did nothing to place himself in front of the ball to make himself be hit, he is able to walk to first base.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


What if your hit in the hands while at bat?

If the ball hits the batter's hand before it hits their bat, it is a hit by pitch and the batter takes first base. If the ball hits the bat first it is a foul ball.


If the ball hits a runner is it a hit or a fielders choice?

If a ball hits the runner, the runner is out and the play is scored a hit for the batter.


Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.


If the ball hits the bat when batter in moving out of the way of a bad pitch and the batter is out of the batters box or on the plate?

if the ball is hit by the bat out the box by accident it still counts as a hit ... if the batter hits the ball while on the plate it's an out ...


Can a ball hit in foul territory be fair?

If the batter hits the ball and it hits any part of a field player or their glove before it falls or rolls into foul territory it is indeed a fair ball.


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


Pitcher throws ball and ball hits ground first bounces up and batter hits it. is this a hit?

No. You fool.


If a batter is hit by a pitch after the ball hits his bat while trying to get out of the way of the pitch and not swinging or bunting at it does the batter go to first base?

No. If the ball hits the batter's bat first there can be no call of hit by pitched ball. Added: It is actually a foul ball and a strike.


If the ball hits the ground and then the batter is it still a dead ball?

According to http://www.baseballresource.com/ask_ump/: "The ball is still live after it hits the ground and the uniform is considered part of the body. If a batter is hit in the pant leg after the ball hits the ground award the batter first due to being hit by pitch."


When a pitcher pitches and the ball does not hit the groundand the batter does not swing but ball bounces off catchers mitt and hits batter why isn't that a walk?

The only way a hit-by-pitch walk can be recorded is if the batter is actually hit by the pitcher. Once another defensive player has touched the ball it is no longer the pitcher's responsibility.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


If a pitcher throws a ball that hit the dirt and the batter swings and hits it is a fair ball?

It Is Fair As Long As The Batter Swings And They Hit The Ball... As Long As It Is Inside The Foul Lines The Ball Is In Play.


Can a ball be hit twice in baseball?

Do you mean one batter hits the ball in one pitch than it's possible, but only by accident like if the batter hits the ball straight up and then hits it again...


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


If the ball hits home plate then hits batter are you out?

No, on a throw the runner can't just be hit by the ball and be out. Even if it hits the plate. The catcher would have to tag the runner with the ball, or with his glove while the ball is in his glove. The only time a runner can be out like that is when they are running the bases and hit by a ball hit by the batter(The runner must be in fair territory). Wrong. If you are a right handed batter, it is possible to hit the plate then hit you. You are out. If you are out of the box. If you are in the box, the ball will called dead. Scored as a foul.


The ball hits the ground then hits batter does the batter get first base?

The batter does not get first base. They only get first when it hits them directly. WRONG! Rule 2.0 states that a ball which hits the ground first then hits the batter is ruled a hit batsman, and he is awarded 1st base.


Can a batter hit a ball that bounces in front of the plate?

no, it would be a "dead ball" and play will end. The above answer it 100% wrong. The ball remains live, the batter may hit it or if it hits the batter, he gets first base.