answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

it depends on the situation. If the count is two strikes then it is an out because if the batter is insied the box then it is a fould ball and a two strike foul ball on a bunt attempt is an out. If there is one strike or zero strikes then the batter can be called out or a foul ball. If he is still in the batter's box and the ball touches him then it is a fould ball but if the batter is outside the batter's box and the ball touches him, then he is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-11-08 16:35:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is the batter out if a bunted ball hits him?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens when a bunted ball hits bat twice?

If in fair territory batter out...dead ball Type your answer here...


What happens if the ball is 'bunted' on the 3rd strike in softball?

If the ball stays in fair territory, then everything is like a normal bunt. But if the ball is bunted into foul territory on a third strike, then the batter is automatically out.


Can a runner advance when the batter is hit by a bunted ball out of the batters box?

no because it will be considered a dead ball


Can a batter be out on a third strike foul ball?

No, but if it was two strikes, then he bunted a foul, then he would be out


Is double hit of the bat on a bunt an out?

It depends. A) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is bunted straight up into the air and the batter hits the ball again - batter is out. B) batter attempts to bunt the ball, the ball is hit into the infield near home plate, the batter deliberately drops or throws the bat so it hits the ball a second time - batter is out. C) batter attempts to bunt the ball, then drops the bat on the way to first base, the ball incidentally rolls against the bat, ball is live and playable.


Can a bunted ball be foul first?

A bunted ball can be fair, it just depends on where the ball is when it is fielded by the fielder.


What is a bunted ball?

A "bunt" is a ball batted into the infield by the batter while holding the bat sideways between his hands. This is a deliberately short hit that is designed to advance a runner and not gain first base for the batter. A bunted ball that rolls foul is considered a strike, even if it is the third strike.


Who gets credit for putout when a bunted ball hits the batter?

MLB Rule 10.09b-4 is pretty unambiguous: The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a: ... (4) batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;


When a bunted ball bounces up after hit with the bat and then hits the batter as he starts to run what is the call?

By convention and interpretation, it depends on where the batter is when he is hit with a batted fair ball. If he's still got a foot in the batter's box, it's ruled a foul ball. If he's out of the box, the ball is dead and the batter-runner is out. (The batter's box is partially in fair and partially in foul territory.)


A batter hits the ball its hits home plate then the batter?

it depends on whether the batter is still in the batter's box when the ball hits him. If he is in the batter's box then the ball is foul. If he is out of the batter's box and the ball hits him in fair territory then the batter is out.


If a batted ball hits the batter is he out?

If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.


A bunted ball hits home plate first then rolls into fair territory is it fair or foul?

its fair

People also asked