answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. For it to be a sacrifice fly, a runner must score.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-28 15:41:05
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it possible to hit a sac fly when there is only one runner on first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


If there is a runner on first base and the batter is put out at first is the force removed for the runner?

The force is off so the runner can only be tagged out.


Why does softball have to first base pads?

To prevent injuries due to collisions on throws to first base. It is only used when a runner is going from home to first. Once the runner arrives at first, it is no longer used...


Can a runner back up on the bases between home and first base?

When proceeding to first a runner can not retreat towards home nor can they come to a complete stop of forward motion. If they do either of these the the runner is to be called out without need of a tag on the runner or the base. This only applies to a runner between home and first.


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


Does a left handed pitcher have to throw to first base on a pick off move with the only runner on 1st base?

no duhhh


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


With a runner on first base the pitcher overthrows ball to first where should the runner be awarded?

The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


Does a thrid base runner need to be tagged out if the hitter is tagged out first?

the only way for them to get out is if there tagged so yes

People also asked