answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-10-07 01:52:06
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


In softball if a Batter is hit by a pitch as the runner on second is trying to steal third base is the runner allowed third or must they go back to second base?

they must go back,dead ball after hitting batter


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


When a batted ball hits a runner for the third out how is the batter scored?

the batter is awarded a base hit.


If a runner is on second base and the batter takes ball four can the runner on second steal third base?

yes because as long as the ball was taken the movement is still able to be played. also depending on what league of baseball you play.


What is the differecne between a tag play and a force play in softball?

A tag play is when it is required to tag a base runner to get them out. A force play is when it is required to have possession of the ball and touch the base to get the base runner out. By definition, a force play is in effect when a base runner is 'forced' to run to the next base because of the ball being hit and another runner being 'forced' to run to the base that the runner currently occupies. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball to third base, the runner on first base is 'forced' to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. In this case, a force play is in effect at second base (and at first base because a batter is always 'forced' to run to first base after hitting a fair ball. A force play is always in effect at first base when a batter hits a fair ball.). If there is a runner only on second base and the batter hits a ball to first base, the runner at second is not 'forced' to run to third base because no one is 'forced' to run to second base. In this case, a tag play is in effect at third base if the runner at second attempts to advance.


What is force play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.


Does the batter get credited with an RBI when a runner on third scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

no


If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.


What does throwing out the runner mean?

Throwing out the runner means that the batter hit the ball and a fielder fielded the ball and got the batter out running to first. It could also mean that the catcher threw the ball to second base when a girl was trying to steal and got her out. The same thing applies to third base.


Does the run count when a batter bunts and the runner on third scores before the first baseman tags the batter for the third out?

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


What is the call if you have runners on second and third with one out and a fly ball is hit to the outfield and is caught. The runner on third base tags up and scores. The runner on second base does n?

It's a sacrifice fly. The batter is credited with an RBI, and the at-bat does not count against his batting average. The runner on second is inconsequential to the scoring decision.


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


When a batter is hit by a pitch and the ball goes past the catcher can a runner on second advance to home?

When a batter is hit by a pitch, the ball is dead.


Does batter get RBI if runner scores from third on 3 strikes catcher drops ball?

Yes


What constitutes batter interference when a catcher throws to second to get the runner out who is stealing?

If the ball hits third base on a hit, it is foul according to Major League Rules


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Suicide squeeze and the ball hits the batter and the runner on third is barreling down the line but the ball hits the batter?

If a pitched ball hits the batter, it is dead, and all runners must return to their bases.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.