answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Let's start with how K can gain possession of the ball during the kick.

Either:

1.) R (the receiving team) needs to touch the ball before K (assuming the R player who touches the ball isn't being 'force touched' by being blocked into the ball).

or

2.) The ball travels 10 yards and the ball touches the ground (it can happen in either order).

If K touches the ball and neither 1.) nor 2.) has happened:

- In NCAA, it is a non-flagged foul for illegal touching and R can either take the spot of the illegal touch or the result of the play.

- in high school, it isn't a foul, but it is considered 'first touching' and ruled the same as the NCAA.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2012-09-04 14:30:16
This answer is:
🙏
0
🤨
0
😮
0
User Avatar
Study guides
📓
See all Study Guides
✍️
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a foul for the kicking team to touch an onside kick before it goes ten yards. if yes then what is the penalty and what is the foul?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does an onside kick have to travel 10 yards before the receiving team can catch it?

No, the receiving team may attempt to take possession at any time after the kick. It is the kicking team that must wait for the ball to travel 10 yards before they can be the first to touch it. However, should a member of the receiving team touch the ball before it travels 10 yards and fumble/muff it, the kicking team can recover the ball and take possession without penalty.


If kicking team touches ball after it goes ten yards but before it hits the ground is there a penalty?

There is no penalty. Any touch by the kicking team is considered a "legal touch" as long as the football travels the entire ten yards, no matter if it hits the ground first or not.


Can the kicking team pass the 10 yard mark before the ball on an onside kick?

Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.


Does an onside kick have to go beyond ten yards?

If the kicking team wants to recover their own onside kick and be awarded possession, then yes, the ball must travel ten yards before it is touched by a player from the kicking team, UNLESS the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team. The receiving team can touch and/or recover the ball at any time. The ball ALSO has to touch the ground in addition to going 10 yards. Both those conditions must be met for the kicking team to recover the kick and maintain possession. The other way to do it is for the receiving team to touch the ball first.


What are the rules for onside kick?

The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.


What is a onside kick in NFL?

An onside kick in the NFL is the same in any other level of football. The onside kick is a strategy. After a team has scored a touchdown, that team must kick the ball to the opposing team. The kicking team may kick the ball as far as they want but if it goes out of bounds it is a pentalty. The ball must also pass ten yards before the kicking team can touch the ball and take possession of it. The goal of the onside kick is to recover the ball after the ball has crossed ten yards from where the ball was kicked, and set your offense up to score again. The onside kick is usually used when a team is losing and needs to score in a little amount of time. But, that is a tough thing to do because the opposing team has a better chance of recovering the ball than the kicking team.


In football on an onside kick if the ball touches the receiving team and then the kicking team recovers is it a turnover?

the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.


Must the football touch the ground during an onside kick for the kicking team to receive the ball?

No it doesn't, but one of the receiving team must touch it 1st if it hasen't hit the ground to make it a live ball. Mark


Can you onside punt on a safety?

There is no such thing as an onside punt because if you punt it, the other team has to touch the ball before you can recover it. There is such thing as an onside kick on a kickoff when the ball can go ten yards then any team can recover it. Or on an onside kickoff if it hits the receiving team, anyone can recover it


What is the rule for onside kicks in football?

No member of the kicking team may touch the ball until it has travelled 10 yards from where the ball was kicked unless a member of the receiving team touches it first.


Can you fair catch an onside kick in the nfl?

No. Frank Gore of the 49ers was given a 5 yard penalty for calling fair catch after an onsides kick that didn't touch the ground.


What are the rules for an onside kick?

The main rule is that the ball has to travel 10 yards downfield before it can be recovered by the kicking team prior to the opponents touching it. A kickoff is a free kick. Whoever recovers a kickoff gains possession of the ball. The ball must travel 10 yards downfield before the kicking team can touch it unless the receiving team touches it first within 10 yards. If the kickoff doesn't travel 10 yards downfield the receiving team is not obligated to attempt a return. The kick must hit the ground, in addition to travel 10 yards to give the kicking team possession of the ball if they can recover the kick. That is why onside kicks are kicked straight into the ground.


If a ball on a punt is first touched by the kicking team and then touched by the receiving team but then recovered by the kicking team. Does the kicking team get the ball?

If the kicking team touches the ball first, they cannot gain possession. Even if the receiving team picks up the ball and fumbles it, the kicking team cannot legally recover it. The ball is dead and possessed by the receivers at the recovery point. That's right, because a punt first touched by the kicking team is always considered an illegal touch. When a kicking team downs the ball on an ordinary punt play, that's technically an illegal touch, but no penalty is assessed -- the ball simply goes over to the receiving team at that point. In the scenario presented in the question, the only difference is that the kicking team failed to down the ball on their first touch. No matter what happens after that point, they are ineligible to recover the ball.


Does ball have to touch the ground in onsides kick?

In an on-sides kick the football does not have to touch the ground. The football must travel at least 10 yards before the kicking team can legally touch the football.


Can the kicker be the first one to touch the ball on an onside kick?

As long as it goes 10 yards.


What is an indirect free kick in soccer?

it is a kick that two players have to touch before kicking it on target (the goal). it is placed like a free kick


What is a penalty kick?

A penalty kick is the method of restarting play when a defender commits a direct free kick offense within their own penalty area. There are 10 direct free kick offenses listed in the Laws of the Game. Play is stopped. The goalkeeper must be on the goal line, between the posts, and facing forward until the kick is taken. All non-kicking players must be outside of the penalty area, outside of the penalty arc, and behind the ball until the kick is taken. The ball is placed on the penalty mark. The whistle is blown. The kicking player may stutter step, but not stop, and must kick the ball once the plant foot is down. The kicking player may not touch the ball a second time until another player has touched it.


What is illegal touch in football?

On a punt, if the kicking team is the first to touch the ball, it's called an "illegal touch" and the ball is instantly spotted wherever the ball was touched by the kicking team. The receiving team takes over possession from there on a first down.


Does a defensive free kick in the penalty box need to go out of the box?

Any free kick by the defense that is taken inside of the penalty area must leave the penalty area before it is in play. No player may touch it until it does so. If they do, or if it fails to leave the penalty area with it's initial momentum, the kick must be retaken.


Can a goalkeeper inside the penalty area use his hand to touch a ball outside the penalty area?

No. It doesn't matter where the goalkeeper is.The ballmust be in the penalty area (on the line is inside) for the keeper to touch it.


What is a Forced Touch in college football?

You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'


Is there a penalty if you touch the sand in a bunker?

no lol


Does the onside kick have to touch the ground?

No, it just has to go 10 yards from the spot kicked. That's how it is in the NFL I don't know about college.


What is the significance of the penalty area?

The penalty area serves four purposes.A goal keeper is allowed to deliberately handle the ball when it is within their penalty area.Any Direct Free Kick restart, committed by a defender against an attacker, while in the penalty area, becomes a Penalty Kick restart instead.The penalty area helps define the region where non-kicking and non-goalkeeper players must be during the taking of the penalty kick. (A. outside the penalty area, B. outside the penalty arc, and C. behind the ball)During any defensive free kick or goal kick restart taken within the penalty area, no one may touch the ball until it leaves the penalty area. If they do, the restart is performed again.


How far is the penalty area from the touch line?

3ft