answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-11-11 15:59:01
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the kicking team pass the 10 yard mark before the ball on an onside kick?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can the kicking team on a kick off hit a man on an onside kick before the ball is touched by receiving team?

yes


What is a onside kick in NFL?

An onside kick in the NFL is the same in any other level of football. The onside kick is a strategy. After a team has scored a touchdown, that team must kick the ball to the opposing team. The kicking team may kick the ball as far as they want but if it goes out of bounds it is a pentalty. The ball must also pass ten yards before the kicking team can touch the ball and take possession of it. The goal of the onside kick is to recover the ball after the ball has crossed ten yards from where the ball was kicked, and set your offense up to score again. The onside kick is usually used when a team is losing and needs to score in a little amount of time. But, that is a tough thing to do because the opposing team has a better chance of recovering the ball than the kicking team.


Can an onside kick be advanced if kicking team recovers it?

If the kicking team legally recovers an onside attempt, the ball is dead, the clock is stopped, and the kicking team gets the ball for an offensive series at the spot of recovery.


Does an onside kick in football have to hit the ground before the kicking team can recover the ball?

No, the football has to go 10 yards before it can be recovered by the kicking team. if it goes 10 yards and is in the air the kicking team can recover it.


Can an onside kick be caught out of the air by the kicking team?

A player on the kicking team is allowed to catch the ball out of the air as long as the ball has gone at least ten yards.


What are the rules for onside kick?

The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.


Does an onside kick have to go beyond ten yards?

If the kicking team wants to recover their own onside kick and be awarded possession, then yes, the ball must travel ten yards before it is touched by a player from the kicking team, UNLESS the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team. The receiving team can touch and/or recover the ball at any time. The ball ALSO has to touch the ground in addition to going 10 yards. Both those conditions must be met for the kicking team to recover the kick and maintain possession. The other way to do it is for the receiving team to touch the ball first.


How do you kick an onside kick?

An onside kick is when you kick the ball a very shot distance on kick off (10 yards or more) and your team attempts to recover it. Usually you line up most of your players on the side you kicking to for a better chance at getting the ball. If the ball does not go 10 yards the other team well either get the ball or there will be a re-kick. If an opposing player touches the ball inside 10 yards however, then the ball is live.


What year was the kicking team no longer allowed to advance an on sides kick?

A kick off is a live ball and can be advanced wether it is an onsides or regular kick off did you know that on a regular kick off if the kicking team gets the ball before the receiving team they regain possesion and if it is in the endzone that is a touchdown To my knowledge, the kicking team has never been able to advance an onside kick. They can recover after 10 yards, of course, but they can't advance the ball after recovery. They simply take possession at the spot of the recovery.


In football on an onside kick if the ball touches the receiving team and then the kicking team recovers is it a turnover?

the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.


What is the maximum yardage for an onside kick At what point can the kicking team no longer take possession of a kicked ball but only down the ball?

The rules for an onside kick are no different than for any other type of kickoff. On a kickoff, the kicking team can always take possession of the ball as long as it has traveled ten yards. You might be confusing kickoffs with punts. On a punt, the kicking team can only down the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.


Is it considered a turnover when an onside kick does not travel 10 yards but is touched by the receiving team and the kicking team recovers the ball?

yes?


What happens when the kicker does not kick the football past 10 yards on an onside kick?

The kicking team cannot recover the ball unless a returning team member touches it.


Can you kick a touchdown?

Yes you can kick a touchdown. By kicking an onside kick recover it and return it for a touchdown.


Can you fair catch an onside kick in football?

Yes. However, according to NFL Rules: " If ball hits ground or is touched by member of kicking team in flight, fair catch signal is off and all rules for a kicked ball apply. " Therefore, if the onside kick touches the ground, it may not be fair caught. Since the vast, vast majority of onside kicks are on the ground, it would be a rare sight to see an onside kick fair caught.


What is the probability of kicking team recovering an onside kick?

21%


Can an onside kick be fielded by the kicking team out of the air?

yes


Does an onside kick have to travel 10 yards before the receiving team can catch it?

No, the receiving team may attempt to take possession at any time after the kick. It is the kicking team that must wait for the ball to travel 10 yards before they can be the first to touch it. However, should a member of the receiving team touch the ball before it travels 10 yards and fumble/muff it, the kicking team can recover the ball and take possession without penalty.


How far away is the receiving team from the kicking team during an onside kick?

The receiving team must be 10 yards from the spot of the kickoff before a kick and must remain so until the ball is kicked. If they go inside of 10 yards before the ball is kicked, they are guilty of offside, which would would be 5 yards and a rekick, if the kicking team doesn't recover.


Can you advance the ball on an onside kick in the NFL?

The receiving team can advance the ball once they gain possession. The kicking team cannot advance the ball unless it was first in possession of the receiving team.


Is the recovery of a onside kick by the kicking team considered a turnover by the receiving team in the stats?

i dont think so because they never had possesion of the ball.


What are the rules for an onside kick?

The main rule is that the ball has to travel 10 yards downfield before it can be recovered by the kicking team prior to the opponents touching it. A kickoff is a free kick. Whoever recovers a kickoff gains possession of the ball. The ball must travel 10 yards downfield before the kicking team can touch it unless the receiving team touches it first within 10 yards. If the kickoff doesn't travel 10 yards downfield the receiving team is not obligated to attempt a return. The kick must hit the ground, in addition to travel 10 yards to give the kicking team possession of the ball if they can recover the kick. That is why onside kicks are kicked straight into the ground.


Is an onside kick recovered by the kicking team considered as a turnover in the stats?

no it is not.


Can you kick an onside kick after a safety?

After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.


In football can you advance a onside kick if you recover it?

No. The kicking team may only recover and retain possession of the kicked ball, but not advance it -- UNLESS a receiving-team player had possession and fumbled the ball.