After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
There is no such thing as an onside punt because if you punt it, the other team has to touch the ball before you can recover it. There is such thing as an onside kick on a kickoff when the ball can go ten yards then any team can recover it. Or on an onside kickoff if it hits the receiving team, anyone can recover it
Yes it can. It’s a free kick. You just cannot kick from a tee… Though in high school you can. In the NFL you can punt, drop kick, or have the ball held at the 20-yard line. You can also fair-catch a safety kick and attempt a fair-catch kick.
If a kickoff travels 10yards, but rebounds back to less than 10 yards, can the kicking recover it and gain possession?
No. Once a team gets close enough to its own goal, the penalty imposed will be half the distance to the goal line.
You go to the full playbook on kick-off. Then you select onside kick.
yea you are not suppose to tell them but the way you line up for an onside kick they will know already.