answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes, if the fielder had full possession of the ball when he touched the base the runner is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-03-27 01:39:00
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a runner out on a force out at second base if the fielder drops the ball after touching second base for the out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


What is the infield-fly rule in baseball?

The infield fly rule is only in effect with runners on first and second or first, second, and third. The rule is put into effect when there is a pop up in the infield that is catchable. When the umpire yells, "Infield fly, batter's out" He means that the batter is out and the runner's don't have to go even if the fielder drops the ball. This is to protect the runners so they don't have to decide whether to stay on first base in case the fielder catches or to go in case he drops. If the fielder drops the ball the team in the field would have plenty of time to get the lead runner(s).


When tagging up does the runner have to wait for fielder to have possession or first touch?

The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.


Is runner out if he misses touching home plate and catcher drops ball and runner swats it away?

Yes, runner cannot intentionally dislodge ball from fielders glove.


In baseball does the fielder have to actually catch the fly ball or just have contact with it before the runner tags up?

He needs to catch it, and if he drops it the runner doesn't need to tag up.


What happens if the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the runner?

If the pitcher is in contact with the runner, the runner is safe if the pitcher drops the ball. If the pitcher is in contact with the rubber, it is a balk if he drops the ball.


How would you score this if the batter hits a ball the drops in center field but the runner at first is thrown out at second?

If the runner at second is out by being forced out, the batter is not given a base hit .... the play is ruled the same as if the ball was hit to an infielder that threw to second to force the runner. If the runner at second is out by being tagged because they rounded the base too far, the batter is given a base hit.


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


Is it considered an error if a third baseman drops a line drive but gets a runner out who decides to try for home from third - unforced - and gets thrown out?

No error, batter is credited with reaching first on a fielder's choice.


Is it a home run if ball is caught and the fielder falls into stands?

If he drops it yes


Can there be an assist on an error in baseball?

Yes. If the official scorer deems that an out would have been made had another fielder not made an error after the player who would have gotten the assist played the ball, the assist is given. If the first baseman drops a throw from an infielder that would have made an out on a ground ball, the infielder is given an assist and the first baseman is given an error. If the catcher throws a perfect strike to second base to catch a runner stealing and the second baseman drops the ball allowing the runner to be safe when he would have been out by five feet, the catcher is given an assist and the second baseman is given an error.


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


What happens when a runner drops his baton?

Unfortunately he has to go back and get it.


A runner is on 1st and 2nd a ball is hit to the pitcher he drops the ball and the 2nd base runner steps on 3rd and heads back to 2nd and realizes the pitcher drops the ball is it still a force out?

yes it still is a force the runner has to go


If a fielder has one foot in fair territory and one in foul territory and drops a fly ball is it fair or foul?

It depends on the location of the ball, not the location of the fielder or of his feet.


What does an error in baseball consist of?

The definition of an error in baseball would be when a fielder misplays a ball that allows a batter or base runner to advance one or more additional bases when a regular or ordinary play would have prevented the advancement. An error can be when a fielder drops a fly ball, makes a poor throw, or isn't able to field an easy ground ball.


What is it called when a fielder stands behind another fielder waiting to catch just in case they miss the ball?

They are backing up the fielder, or playing backup. I have also heard some people calling it a safety stance. He's not actually waiting to catch the ball, but may do so if the fielder loses the ball in the lights. He's basically there to keep a second eye on the ball in case the fielder drops, mishandles, bobbles, deflects, etc. In many cases it is faster for him to make a play than it is for the intended fielder to scramble for the ball after it's botched.


Baseball scoring - runners on 1st and 3rd the right fielder drops a fly ball allowing the runner on third to score but throw the ball to second base to force out that runner for an out Error?

In this case it's a judgment call for the scorer. If the ball was deep enough that the runner on third could score anyway on a tag-up, then there should be no error and the batter would be given credit for a sacrifice fly. However, if it is a short pop fly and the scorer doesn't think the runner could've tagged up and scored, then it would be an error. Of course, if there are two outs when this happens the run doesn't count and this is a moot point.


Is it an out if the defensive player catches the ball then drops his glove but the ball remains in the glove?

No, the glove is considered an extension of the fielder's hand so if the glove comes off the fielder is deemed to have dropped the ball.


How do you cure pink eye?

Go to the doctor and refrain from touching your eyes and touching other people/things. Your doctor will give you antibiotic eye drops.


Does batter get RBI if runner scores from third on 3 strikes catcher drops ball?

Yes


How many drops per second are necessary to create a stream?

Depends on the size of the drops.


If a gas tank leaks 2 drops per second how many liters will it loose in a week?

Assuming the gasoline has the same approximate drop size as water, there are 20 drops per ml. Therefore 2 drops per second = 120 drops/min = 7200 drops/hr = 172800 drops/day = 1,209,600 drops/wk Divide that by 20000 (drops/liter) gives you about 60.5 liters.


Center fielder drops ball when he runs into wall is it and error?

Probably not...but, it really depends on the Official Scorers decision. Was the fielder bobbling the ball when he ran into the wall? Did crashing into the wall actually cause the fielder to drop the ball? Before a scorer can make such a call, he must witness the event...this is true on almost all scoring decisions.


If the player is in foul territory and drops the ball is the batter safe?

If the ball is in fair territory, the fact that the fielder is standing in foul territory does NOT make the ball foul. the same as if a ball is foul, the fielder standing in fair territory doesn't make the ball fair.