answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a batted ball is caught in the air, the batter is out and would not be on base. It would not be a "hit."

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-05 21:13:20
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a caught ball a hit even if the runner gets on base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


Can base runneers leave the base before the pitcher pitches the ball?

Yes. But if the runner is tagged by someone holding the ball while off the base, the runner is out. Thus, a pitcher -- or even the catcher! -- might throw the ball to the base where a runner is lazily standing too far from the base.


Can a batter that reaches base due to error get an RBI?

yes . man on 3rd scores when outfielder drops easy fly ball. runner would have scored even if the ball was caught.


Can a runner advance more than one base on fly ball?

The runner can go as far as he wants. If the runner is the player who hit the fly ball and nobody else is on base, he can run until he dies if he wants. If the runner is the player who hit the fly ball and somebody else is on base ahead of him, he must watch where the runner ahead of him is going so he doesn't pass him up. If the runner is NOT the player who hit the fly ball and there are less than 2 outs, the runner doesn't want to advance very far, because if the ball is caught he has to run back to the base he started on. If the runner is NOT the player who hit the fly ball and there are already 2 outs, he's going to run regardless, because there's no reason to tag up with 2 outs. If you're asking if a player can "tag up" after a fly ball is caught, and then advance more than one base, the answer is yes. In 50 years of following baseball, I've never heard of any MLB player even attempting to do so.


Can the defense in kickball kick the ball at the runners feet and hit them with the ball on the ground?

It all depends on what type of kickball you are playing. In traditional kickball you don't even have to touch the ball. As long as the ball touches the runner, the runner is out. Even if the "kicker" kicks the ball at a runner that is not on a base, the runner is out. There are different kinds of rules about this type of situation that can be adjusted to your liking


Does the runner need to touch the base on every pitch?

Actually there is no rule in the Major League Rules that the runner has to touch base after each pitch. He must after a foul ball or caught fly ball. Even though runners in almost all leagues do touch after each pitch including the major's it is not a rule in Official Rules: 7.00 The Runner that he must: (See related Link)


When does a run not count on a fly ball?

When the runner doesn't properly 'tag-up' after the fly ball is caught. In baseball, to tag up is for a baserunner to retouch or remain on their starting base (the time-of-pitch base) until (after) the ball either lands in fair territory or is first touched by a fielder. By rule, baserunners must tag up when a fly ball is caught in flight by a fielder. After a legal tag up, runners are free to attempt to advance, even if the ball was caught in foul territory. On long fly ball outs, runners can often gain a base; when a runner scores by these means, this is called a sacrifice fly. On short fly balls, runners seldom attempt to advance after tagging up, due to the high risk of being thrown out. When a base runner fails to tag up on a caught fly ball (for instance, if they started running too early, thinking the ball wouldn't be caught), they may be "doubled off", which results in them being called out. To double a runner off, a fielder must touch the runner's starting base while in possession of the ball before the runner returns to the base. If the baserunner appeared to tag up, but a fielder suspects the baserunner may have left the base too early (thus failing to legally tag up), the fielder may attempt to double the runner off by touching the runner's starting base while controlling the ball, before the next pitch is thrown. This is considered a type of appeal play. If the umpire agrees that the runner did not retouch after the ball was touched by a fielder, the umpire will call the runner out, and anything else the runner did during the play (such as score a run) is negated. Doubling a runner off is considered a "time play" (as opposed to a force play), which means that even if the doubling-off is the third out of an inning, any runs which score before the double-off will count (unless the run was scored by the same runner that was doubled off, in which case the run will not count in any situation).


When tagging up does the runner have to wait for fielder to have possession or first touch?

The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.


With the bases loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS. The runner scores before the SS tags the runner from second. Does the run count?

yes it does But in the situation where the ball is thrown to first base witch would be a force out, even if the 3rd base runner has scored the run does not count! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- WRONG. The run cannot count if the third out was made on a batter/runner before he reaches a base he was force to advance to. Doesn't matter if he was tagged or the ball was thrown to the base.


If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territoty the runner is out and the batter is awarded a base hit. How is the out officially recorded in the scorebook?

First, the runner is only out if the fielder has not had a chance at the ball yet. If the ball goes through the 2nd baseman's legs and hits the runner, it's still a live ball. The out is credited to the defensive player closest to the ball when the ball hit the baserunner. For example, if the runner was on third base, more than likely the third baseman would get the unassisted putout. By the way... this example should never happen. Baserunners are taught to lead off third base in foul territory. But it does happen every now and then. Even in the majors.


Can a runner score on a fly ball if the other runner doesn't?

Sure. The runner on 3rd base can tag up and score. The runner on 2nd may not even be able to advance to 3rd base, especially if the fly ball is to left field. To further clarify..a base runner may not pass another base runner who is ahead of him..so, if your question means can a runner on 2nd or 1st, tag up and score if the runner on third doesn't, the simple answer is no...however, in a rare case they could. Let's assume that the runner on third tags up, but is thrown out at home and it is not the 3rd out of the inning, then the catcher either throws the ball away, or otherwise loses the ball, the other runner or runners may then advance and score. The batter, though, is not credited with a Sacrifice Fly, nor an RBI.


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


How long must a player hold onto a ball after he has tagged out a runner?

There is no set time a player must hold on to a ball after catching either a batted or a thrown ball - the rule only states that he must maintain "control" of the ball. If the umpire rules that a fielder has control of the ball and then tagged a runner that was off-base, that runner is instantly 'Out' and the fielder need not maintain control of the ball after that. He can immediately throw the ball elsewhere, or even drop it, and the runner would still be out.


What is the official Scoring when a batter is hit by a ball thrown to 1st base?

It depends on where the batter is in the base path. First base is the only base where there is a running lane for the batter. This is a 3' wide lane to the right of the foul line, off the playing field. If the fielder throws the ball to first base for the putout and the ball hits the runner and prevents a catch by the fielder guarding the base: -- if the runner was running within or to the right (as one looks from home to first) of the runners lane, the ball is dead and the runner is granted first base. This is true even if he falls down and is unable to make it to first before the ball is picked up and relayed to the first baseman. -- if the runner is running outside the runner's lane (usually to the left), and is hit by the thrown ball, he is called out. In fact, if it is a quality throw, he could be called out even if he is not hit with the throw, if in the umpire's judgement he was attempting to interfere with the fielder's attempt to field the throw.


Is a runner out if the first baseman has his hand on the ball while the ball is still no the ground but does not lift the ball off the ground?

Yes. They would be out. Think of it like this. If a runner is running home from third and the catcher slides onto the plate with the ball, the runner is still out, even though the catcher is on the ground. As long as the Defensive player has possession of the ball, and is touching the base, the offensive player would be considered out.


Two outs runner on 1st and 3rd-- SS fields ball and elects to tag 1B runner rather than touch second base-- 3B runner scores prior to tag--Does run count even though it was a force out situation?

The run would not count since the fielder tagged a runner out during the batter's run to 1st base. It makes no difference where the runner who was on 3rd base is at.


Can you charge a hitter with a fielder's choice if there is not a force out at a base?

Yes. For example, runner on 2nd, batter hits ground ball to the shortstop, who, instead of throwing to first, throws to third base in an attempt to get the runner. The batter is charged with reaching first on a fielder's choice, even if the runner is safe or out.


How do you get an Unassisted triple play without the defense touching the ball?

I believe this did happen, pretty much exactly as described below. I hear about it while listening to a Giants game probably in the '70s. I think it was in Yakama WA in the minors. I was searching for that when I came across this. Here's how it would have to happen, and it would have to happen EXACTLY this way, because of a few stipulations in the rule book. There'd have to be runners on at least first and second so that the infield fly rule would be in effect. There'd be a towering pop-fly hit in the infield, somewhere near second base. Once the fielder settled under the ball, and the umpire judged that the ball could be caught with ordinary effort, that'd be your first out right there, and the ball hasn't even fallen to the ground yet. Secondly, while the ball was in the air, we're assuming that the runner from first base was running on contact, while the runner on second stayed close to the base. As soon as the runner from first base passed the runner on second base, then the runner from first base is automatically out for passing the runner on second. That's two outs, and the ball still hasn't hit the ground yet. Thirdly, the outfielder, for some reason, would have had to misjudge the ball, or else just completely step away from it, allowing the ball to fall untouched to the ground. If the runner on second base was standing just a little bit off the base, and that ball took a bounce when it hit the ground and bounced up and hit the runner on second, that would make him the third out. There's your three outs, with no member of the defense touching the ball. A couple of notes on this...the runner on second base being hit with the ball would HAVE to be the last out. The ball is dead as soon as a runner is called out for being hit with a batted ball. Therefore, the theory that you can have a triple play with no defenseman touching the ball by having a hit ball bounce off of three different runners is impossible. Even if that did happen, only the first to be hit would be called out, and the play would be dead. Also, the runner on second base would HAVE to be standing just off the base when he was hit. Note under NORMAL circumstances that if a batted ball strikes a runner, whether or not he's standing on a base, he'd be out...as the base is not a sanctuary in this case. However, on an infield fly, even though the runner is still out if a batted ball contacts him when he is off the base...he is NOT out if the ball contacts him while he is on the base. The infield fly rule is the ONLY time a batter is protected from being called out when hit by a batted ball if he is on base. Now you all are just a little smarter, thanks to one of the best umpires ever to call balls and strikes on the diamond...and that'd be me!


Can you tag the base with your bare hand with the ball in your glove hand?

MLB Rule 2.00 states:A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or gloveThus, if the ball is held "securely and firmly" in your glove when you touch the base with ANY part of your body -- even your hand or the bottom of your foot -- that would be considered a "tag."Rule 7.08(e) states:Any runner is out when --...(e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.Thus, if a fielder tags the base the runner must advance to, prior to the runner reaching that base, that runner is out. And touching a base with your hand while holding the ball in your glove would be considered a tag of the base.Note, however, that tagging a player is different, as stated in Rule 2.00 :A TAG is the action of a fielder in ... touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.Thus, although you can tag a BASE with the hand that does not hold the ball, you can only tag a RUNNER with the hand (or glove) that is holding the ball.


Can Tipped baseball caught in air can runner advance?

Yes. It would be considered a foul tip not a foul ball. Foul tips are treated as if the hitter never even touched it. In this case a runner may advance at his/her own risk.


Are you out in cricket if ball is caught in clothes?

yes you are out even if the ball stuck in clothes


In baseball can the first basemen get in the way of the runner?

Only if he is intending to tag the runner instead of stepping on the first base bag.Answer:It depends on the situation. A defender cannot block a runners path just to be doing it, however if a defender is making a play on a batted ball then the defender has the right to field the ball and if the runner makes contact with him even if he is in the baseline the runner can be called out (more then likely will be called out for runner interference). If the defender is making a play on a thrown ball or a tag then if the 1 basemen "gets in the way" of the runner there is nothing illegal there either.


When is a baserunner not protected after reaching first base for example after a batter-runner safely reaches first base and turns in foul territory when is he no longer protected?

After a batter has hit a ball and runs to first base he is allowed to over run the bag (base) ... If the base runner turns left in the siltiest way it is seen as if his going for 2nd base (even if he walks back to first) he can be tagged out ...


Can you catch the regis on emerald with a ultraball?

Anything can be caught with an ultra ball. Even with a poke ball.


Is it a hit if the shortstop fields a ground ball and throws to first and the first baseman stretches and their foot comes off the bag and the runner beats the throw or is it an error?

This would be a hit assuming the ball was fielded and caught cleanly. If a play is so close that a 1st baseman has to stretch to make the out, then it will be a base hit if the runner is safe, even if he stretches off the base. Now if the ball was bobbled when fielded or the throw was off and pulled the 1st baseman off the bag because of a bad throw, then the fielder would be charged an error and no basehit given, if the batter would have been out on a properly fielded or thrown ball