answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, it is simply ball four and the runner is safe and the batter is awarded first base on a base on balls.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-26 16:10:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the pitcher throws ball four and the catcher throws to 2nd before the runner reaches is he out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner on third base score if the catcher walks to the mound to talk to the pitcher?

No, because the catcher asks the umpire for time out and is granted time out before he visits the pitcher. No runner may advance while time is out.


If catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first?

Only on a third strike with 1st base un-occupied. This does not apply to Little League. Note: he is entitled to TRY to run to first base. He can be thrown out by the catcher if the throw reaches the baseman before the runner. If he beats the throw, then he is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error.


What a catcher gives a pitcher?

A catcher tells the pitcher what kinds of pitches to throw. Also, if the pitcher throws a bad pitch, the catcher can prevent the keep the ball close to prevent any base runner advancements.


Can base runneers leave the base before the pitcher pitches the ball?

Yes. But if the runner is tagged by someone holding the ball while off the base, the runner is out. Thus, a pitcher -- or even the catcher! -- might throw the ball to the base where a runner is lazily standing too far from the base.


Does a pitcher get credit for a strikeout if a runner gets to first base via the third strike drop rule?

Yes. If the runner reaches first base, it is usually due to an error on the catcher's part, so the scoring is 'K' for strikeout but 'E2' for the catcher dropping the ball. If the catcher recovers in time, then again the 'K' for strikeout is accompanied by '2-3' for the actual putout at first base.


Can a runner on third score if the catcher goes to the mound to talk to the pitcher?

No, because a time out was granted to the defense allowing the catcher to go up to the pitcher.


If the catcher is on third base with no outs can the coach replace him with another runner?

A courtesy runner is typically used for the pitcher or catcher, especially in games on a time limit.


What is a throw by the pitcher or catcher to catch a runner off base?

pick off


Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.


If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.


Is a pitcher credited for a strike out if the runner reaches first base on a past ball?

Yes, the pitcher is given a strikeout for the at bat


Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.


What is a fielders balk in baseball?

The only fielder that is able to balk is the pitcher. a balk occurs when there is a base runner and the pitcher makes an incorrect move, in essence trying to trick the runner and/or batter. the pitcher has a set of rules to follow and must reveal his intentions of throwing the runner out or throwing home. it's best to look into the leagues rule book to see what rules apply to the league that interests you. it's a very complex rule. It is also a balk when the catcher is out of the catcher's box when the pitcher begins his pitch, and when any player other than the catcher is not in fair territory when the pitcher begins his pitch.


What happens when strike three goes by and you swung and missed and the catcher drops it?

This play is referred to as "redeye". If a batter misses (or does not swing) at the 3rd strike, and the catcher drops it, the runner must run to first before the catcher throws the dropped pitch to first. If the runner is beaten by the throw, it is simply a strikeout in the books. If the runner beats out the throw, it still goes as a strikeout, but his advance to first will be listed as an error by either the pitcher or the catcher (depending on how bad the pitch was, and the reason it was not caught). In Little League (60 foot basepaths) batter is out on strike three no matter what the catcher does.


How is it possible for a pitcher to make four or more strikeouts in one inning?

There is a rule in baseball known as the uncaught third strike rule. This rule states that a catcher must catch the ball from the pitcher on a third strike for an out to be recorded. If, on a third strike, the pitched ball touches the ground before reaching the catcher or the catcher does not cleanly catch the ball, the batter becomes a runner and may advance to first base and must be tagged or thrown out at first base for the out to be recorded. For example, a batter swings and misses for strike three but the ball gets past the catcher and rolls back to the backstop. For the out to be recorded, the catcher must retrieve the ball and throw to first base before the batter gets there. If the batter beats the throw to first base, he becomes a base runner and is not out. In this situation, the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The official scorer will rule as to whether the pitcher will also be charged with a wild pitch or the catcher will be charged with a passed ball (the reason the batter reached base). So the pitcher strikes out the first batter but the ball gets by the catcher and the batter reaches first base. The pitcher then cleanly strikes out the next three batters. For the inning, the pitcher is credited with 4 strikeouts. The uncaught third strike rule does not apply when there is a runner on first base and there are less than two outs. This keeps the catcher from intentionally dropping a third strike which would allow for an easy double play ... catcher throws to second base for one out and the second baseman/shortstop throws to first for the second out. There is no uncaught third strike rule in Little League Baseball. The batter is automatically out on a third strike regardless of whether the catcher catches the ball or not.


If A runner on first base is stealing second base and touches the base before the ball is pitched the batter fouls off the pitch must the runner return to first base?

No...as long as the pitcher has not begun his pitching motion. If the player reaches the next base before the pitcher moves his feet to start his motion, that player is entitled to the base he/she reached no matter the outcome of the following pitch.


If a runner on first reaches second on a steal before the ball is actually hit does he have to tag up if the ball is caught?

Yes, all runners have to return to the base they were at, at the beginning of the play.----------Above is correct, but if the runner reaches 2B before the pitcher pitches the ball, he would not have to return to 1B to tag up.


If a relief pitcher comes in with the bases loaded and gets a force out at second does the runner that is now on first get charged to the previous pitcher since his runner was forced out by choice?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


With a runner on 2nd base a catcher overthrow the pitcher after a pitch The runner and shortstop who is going to batch up the errant throw run into each other?

This is not a question. Please re-phase it.


What is the purpose of a designated runner in baseball?

Generally the designated runner is to be used for the catcher when there are two outs, sometimes the number of outs is not important. The PURPOSE of the rule is to allow the catcher to put his equipment on sooner and speed up the game. Some leagues use the designated runner for both the pitchers and catchers. This allows the pitcher and catcher to also rest. In addition it gives a player the opportunity to participate who is not in the line-up.


What is a good time for catchers throw from home to second base?

When the runner on first steals to second base and the pitcher has already pitched the ball, the catcher should throw the ball from home to second to get the runner who is stealing out. ^^^lololol no. Unless the pitcher's throwing a fastball the runner has a good chance of making it.


Does a pitcher get credited for a strike out if a runner reaches first base on a past ball?

Yes it will be a strikeout Every few years a pitcher is credited with FOUR strikeouts in an inning.


What is a Baugh in baseball?

A bauck is an illegal move by the pitcher which throws off the runner. If an umpire catcher a pitcher doing an illegal move, all runners on base move forward one base.


Is a batted ball fair or foul if it strikes a runner while he is on base?

It depends. If a runner is in foul territory, and is hit with a batted ball, before the batted ball reaches 1B or 3B, then it's foul. But if a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, before passing an infielder other than the pitcher, time is called, the ball is dead, and the runner is declared out for interference. The batter is awarded 1B, but all other runners must return to the base they previously occupied.