answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-06-07 03:20:25
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a batter out if hit by a thrown ball on the way to first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a ball hits a piece of a broken bat in fair territory is it a dead ball live ball or an out?

It is a live ball. If the batter reaches first base safely, it is a hit. If the batter is thrown out a first, it's an out.


Meaning of batter is?

The batter is the player who has a bat in his hands and tries to hit the ball thrown by the pitcher.


Is batter out if running inside baseline to firstbase and gets hit by thrown ball?

No only if they get hit by a ball someone on there team hits.


When a batter hits safely to the out field and is thrown out at second is he credited with a single?

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.


When can't you hit a fly ball?

Presumably a fly ball can't (and more correctly, shouldn't) be hit, as the batter is the only person allower to hit a baseball thrown from a pitcher.


2nd and third with 1 out batter hits ball off pitcher and runner attempts to score and is thrown out does batter get a hit?

If the runner who started on 3rd base is the one thrown out at home, no it is not a hit. It is ruled a fielder's choice


In baseball what does HPB stand for?

Hit By Pitch - when a batter is struck by a thrown ball from the pitcher, either intentionally or unintentionally.


When at bat is it a foul ball if the batter is hit by the pitch on the hands?

If the ball strikes the bat handle and then the hands it is a foul ball. If the ball strikes the batter on the hands he is awarded first base, provided the pitch is not in the strike zone and the batter has made an attempt to avoid the ball. A batter is not entitled to first base if he is hit with a pitch while attempting to hit the ball.


When does a batter walk to first base?

when he gets hit with the ball


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


What if your hit in the hands while at bat?

If the ball hits the batter's hand before it hits their bat, it is a hit by pitch and the batter takes first base. If the ball hits the bat first it is a foul ball.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).

People also asked