no, there can be fielder interference, runner interference, or a batter can be hit by a ball. But if the pitcher is in the circle the runners must go directly to the next base (steal) or go back to the base they were on. They can not go one way then the other.
It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch
The umpire does not have to call time when the ball is in the infield, BUT when the pitcher has it in the circle so the play is OFFICIALLY dead.
When the ball is thrown and it hits the ground it's dead. Or if the runner loses the ball after his knee is down the ball is dead. And in cases where flags are thrown the ball and the play is dead.
If a pitcher drops the ball during their delivery, the play is typically ruled as a "dead ball." The pitch is not counted, and the batter is usually given another chance to face a legal pitch. The pitcher may be assessed for a potential violation or loss of focus, but the incident itself does not incur penalties beyond stopping the game momentarily. The game resumes with the pitcher reattempting the delivery.
If the pitcher throws four balls to one batter, it means that the batter would get a free base. However, the ball is not dead. For example, if the fourth ball was a wild pitch, other runners could advance, including the runner who had just walked.
You certainly may. A base-runner may leave the bag as soon as the pitcher releases the ball.
An umpire is not supposed to throw the ball back to the pitcher with runners on base. If he does the ball is dead from the time he touches it to the time the pitcher has the ball on the pitching mound. So the runners cannot advance.
The ball is dead whenever the umpire calls "time", whenever it goes out of play, when it becomes a foul ball, whenever a pitch hits a batter, or whenever a batted ball hits a runner (and a few other circumstances). It doesn't matter whether the pitcher has it or not. On the other hand, it can't be put back _in play_ until the pitcher has it and is on the rubber.
no it is considered a dead ball
No, it is automatically a "dead ball." It is just like a walk.
According to Major League Baseball Rule 7.05(h), the batter is awarded first base, and all runners are awarded one base from the base they occupied at the time the pitcher began his delivery; the ball is dead.
If a batted ball hits a base runner in fair territory before the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire, the ball is dead, the runner is called out for interference, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced. If, however, the ball has been touched by a defensive player or an umpire before hitting the base runner, the ball is live and play proceeds as usual (unless the runner is judged by the umpire to have deliberately made contact with the ball, then the runner can be called out for interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and all other runners advance one base if forced, or, if flagrant, the batter can also be called out and no runners advance).