answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the batter does not swing at the ball and it hits him in the hand, it is not a strike and the player is able to walk to first base. If a batter is hit with a ball and the batter did nothing to place himself in front of the ball to make himself be hit, he is able to walk to first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
User Avatar

Erick Cobourn

Lvl 1
βˆ™ 3y ago
We’re his hands in the strike zone? We need more info to answer accurately. If his hands are in the strike zone and he gets hit on the hands, (even if he doesn’t swing) it’s a dead ball strike.
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 16y ago

The batter would be charged with a strike.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 15y ago

Yes. Trying to bunt and missing counts as a strike.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 13y ago

It is a strike. Look at rule 2.00 "Definition of Terms" of the MLB rules.Its true rules are rules you swing,get hit strike...I know its not fair at times but its the part of the game

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 15y ago

Strike.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 11y ago

No

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
βˆ™ 3y ago

Strike

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you swing and miss the ball but the ball hits you is it a strike or hit by a pitch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When Pitch hits you after you swing and miss?

Batter is charged with a strike, ball is dead (like a time out). No runner can advance.


If you swing and ball hits you is the ball live or dead?

If you swing and miss and the ball hits you, it is a strike and a live ball. If you swing and the bat makes contact with the ball and the ball hits you while you're in the batter's box, it is a foul ball and a dead ball.


If the ball is pitched and the batter doesn't swing but the ball hits the bat what is the call?

It is a strike.


When at bat is it a foul ball if the batter is hit by the pitch on the hands?

If the ball strikes the bat handle and then the hands it is a foul ball. If the ball strikes the batter on the hands he is awarded first base, provided the pitch is not in the strike zone and the batter has made an attempt to avoid the ball. A batter is not entitled to first base if he is hit with a pitch while attempting to hit the ball.


When a batter swings at a pitcher and misses it?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


Is the batter out if his back swing hits a called passed ball and causes the catcher not to be able to make a play?

If the backswing would happen to hit a ball it is considered a dead ball in this situation. and the pitch would count as a strike


In softball and you are in your stance and the pitcher throws the ball and hits your bat without you swinging is that a foul ball?

no. because you have to swing for it to be a foul ball .its really a strike


If a batter hits a pitch that was thrown into the dirt and gets on base is that considered a hit?

Yes it is a hit. If the ball bounces off a car three miles away and come back in the strike zone the batter can hit it. If he doesn't it is a strike. As long as it gets to the batter it is playable unless it hits the batter.AnswerOfficial baseball rules, definitions of terms section 2.00: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. That first answer is so far off base it isn't even funny -- as soon as it hits the dirt it can only be a strike if the batter swings -- this isn't crickett


If pitch hits ground in fastpitch baseball then hits the batter does he go to first?

A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


What is a page ball swing ball and yorker ball?

A yorker ball hits the cricket pitch around the batsman's feet. When a batsman assumes a normal stance this generally means that the cricket ball bounces on the cricket pitch on or near the batsman's popping crease. A batsman who advances down the wicket to strike the ball (typically to slower or spin bowlers) may by so advancing cause the ball to pitch (or land) at or around their feet and may thus cause themselves to be "yorked".