If the ball is literally PLAYED to the player by the opposition, then no, he cannot be offside. However, if the ball takes a deflection off the opposing player, then the player must be ONSIDE when his team mate plays the ball, regardless of his position when it hits the opposing player.
Being in the offside position is not an offence. Only when the off side player touches the ball while offside. Then the ref will call the ball dead and a free kick will tack place.
You are in an "off-side position" if you are: 1. On on the opposing team's half of the field and... 2. Neither one of these things is between you and the opposing team's goal: (1) two opposing players (one is normally the goalkeeper) or (2) the ball.However.....being in an off-side position does not make you off-side (and therefore the referee will not call an off-side penalty on you) until you are involved in an active play. A very good explanation of the concepts of off-side position and off-side can be found here: http://www.soccerhelp.com/Soccer_Tips_Dictionary_Terms_O.shtml#offside_rule_detailed That site also includes a good explanation of the exceptions to the off-side rule and since I cannot come up with better wording, here is a direct quote from the site: "Special Cases Where Offside Is Not Called: A player is not offside if he receives the ball directly from a goal kick, throw-in or corner kick, even if he is in an offside position; however, once touched, the offside rule starts and if it is then played to a player in an "offside position", offside may be called. (Note that the offside rule does apply on "free kicks"). A player is also not offside if he passes the ball backward, even if doing so leaves him in an "offside position". However, if he is in an offside position & the ball is played back to him (e.g., a wall pass), then he can be called offside." == == == == Previous answers.....There must be a defender between the attacking player and the goal keeper when the attacking player recieves the ball, otherwise he/she is offside There must be a defender between the attacking player and the goal keeper when the attacking player recieves the ball, otherwise he/she is offside no there must be two players (one of whom is normally the goalkeeper) between the attacker and the goal line WHEN THE BALL IS PLAYED, and if the attacker is in the opponent's half of the field
To be offside, you do not have to touch it. If you interfere with an opponent (e.g. possibly lunge at him) or gain an advantage by being there (e.g. recover a deflection off the keeper or goalpost) are also enough.
You cannot be in an offside position when... you are on your own half of the field you are further from the opposing goal line than the 2nd last opponent (or even with) you are further from the opposing goal line than the ball (or even with) You cannot be guilty of an offside offense... directly from a throw-in directly from a goal kick directly from a corner kick
if a player is offside in netball usually the ball goes to the other team and they get a free pass from where the player was off side. i think! Hope that helps.
In soccer, an attacking player is offside if he or she is in an offside position at the moment his or her teammate plays the ball, and becomes involved in the play. A player is in an offside position if he or she is ahead of the ball and ahead of the penultimate defender. Note that a player cannot be in an offside position on his or her own half of the field, or if he or she is level with the penultimate defender (usually the goalkeeper and one defender, but can be any two members of the defending team) or with the ball. Note that it is not an offense to be in an offside position. To become involved with the play and be called for offside, a player must become involved with the play by playing (touching) the ball, interfering with an opponent, or by otherwise gaining an advantage from being in that position. A player cannot be called offside if he or she receives the ball directly from a throw-in, corner kick, goal kick, or kick-off, nor from a deliberate play by a member of the opposing team (this last bit is the result of a revision effective in 2013, but has nearly always been enforced this way). The reason that these exclusions exist is because the Laws were not written to accommodate tactical errors by the opposing team., and players are expected to be ready for these restarts. In the event of an infraction, play is stopped and restarted with an indirect free kick for the defending team at the location of the offside player at the moment that his or her teammate played the ball (not where he or she became involved with play).
In the tackle scenarion. When a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout forms, a player who is offside and is retiring as required by Law remains offside even when the opposing team wins possession and the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has ended. The player is put onside by retiring behind the applicable offside line. No other action of the offside player and no action of that player's team mates can put the offside player onside. If the player remains offside the player can be put onside only by the action of the opposing team. There are two such actions: An Opponent runs 5 metres with ball. When an opponent carrying the ball has run 5 metres, the offside player is put onside. An offside player is not put onside when an opponent passes the ball. Even if the opponents pass the ball several times, their action does not put the offside player onside. An Opponent kicks. When an opponent kicks the ball, the offside player is put onside. Related links will take you to the IRB rules covering the range of offside and on side regulations
For a pass to be valid in soccer, the player receiving the ball needs to have at least 2 members of the opposing team in front of him, of which can include the goalkeeper. An offside happens when there is just on or no players from the other team in front. There is one exception to this though. If the player receiving the ball does not have at least two players in front of him, but he/she is behing of the ball when the ball was passed, it is not an offside, but a valid pass.
During a ruck, an Invisable defensive line is formed, any player who crosses the lone before the ball is live is offside. During a kickoff, if a defensive player is in front or beside the kicker he is offside. For an offensive player he can be called for offside if he isn't back 10 yards.
You can not be guilty of an offside offense when directly receiving a throw-in, goal kick, or corner kick. This does not include any plays stemming from these restarts. Once the ball is controlled by anyone, normal offside rules apply once again.
The receiving team must be at least 10 yards away from the ball's line of scrimmage when the ball is kicked. If they are not, a penalty is assessed for being offside.
An offbreak will deviate off the pitch towards the offside (assuming a right handed batsman) whereas outswing means it moves towards off through the air.
No you cannot. In order for a player to be offside, that player has to be behind the ball and behind the 2nd to last defender. On a corner kick, there is no way to be behind the ball unless that player goes off of the field.
can you punt the ball on kick off
A strike is a hittable pitch and a ball is off the plate.
Sure, but if it is a pitch it is a ball, if he bounces it in an attempt to pick off a runner, the ball is in play.
a slow pitch is when the pitch is softer and the turf soaks up the force of the ball making it slower and a fast pitch is when the pitch is hard and the ball bounces off like concrete making it go faster
The attacker's offside status is not reset by a mere deflection off a defender. A team mate of the attacker need only touch it. A defender must control it.
An offside goal is one that is scored by an offside player. If the assistant referee is out of position, he may not realize that the scorer is offside and the goal may stand. Usually, however, offside goals are disallowed and the defending team is awarded an indirect free kick.
No, you can not lead off the bases in slow-pitch softball. You can't even lead off the bases in fast-pitch softball.You have to wait until the ball passes the home plate.
A player cannot be called offside if he receives the ball directly from a throw-in. The reason for this is that the offside law was created to prevent a player from posting up near the opponent's goal while the play was taking place at the other end, because such behavior is considered unsporting and inconsistent with the spirit of the game.The laws were written so as to promote the spirit of the game and sporting behavior, not to compensate for the tactical and strategic failures of the other team. All of the "out of bounds" restarts (throw-in, corner kick, goal kick, and kick-off (yes, goals are out-of-bounds events that also score)) do not have offside applied to players receiving the ball "directly" from the restart.
A player that is completely off of the field of play across the goal line is considered to be on the goal line itself for offside calculations. So, yes, it is possible to be in an offside position.
I believe that spin is exerted on to the ball by the hand, swing is how the ball moves in the air and turn is what the ball does off the pitch. If you're asking about cricket.
The off side rules are varied due to the set pieces and range of offenses however in general: A player who is in an offside position is liable to be penalised only if the player does one of three things: Interferes with play or, moves forward, towards the ball or Fails to comply with the 10-Metre Law ( Which is Law 11.4). A player who is in an offside position will not automatically be penalised. A player who receives an unintentional throw forward is not considerred offside. A player can be deemed offside in the in-goal. Related links below cover greater detail