returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop
It's ruled "caught stealing," and scored 2-6 if the catcher throws to the shortstop, 2-4 if the catcher throws to the second baseman, etc.
Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.
Catcher pop time is the time it takes for a catcher to come out of his crouch after receiving the pitch (like if he was going to try and throw a runner out at second base).
9 Pitcher, Catcher, 1st base, 2nd base, 3rd base, shortstop, left field, center field, and right field.
This position is called shortstop. They act as a cut-off form the outfield on plays that require a relay. They also usually take the throw from the catcher to second base to tag a runner stealing the base.
No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.
Stealing Second was created on 1997-03-18.
Yes. If the official scorer deems that an out would have been made had another fielder not made an error after the player who would have gotten the assist played the ball, the assist is given. If the first baseman drops a throw from an infielder that would have made an out on a ground ball, the infielder is given an assist and the first baseman is given an error. If the catcher throws a perfect strike to second base to catch a runner stealing and the second baseman drops the ball allowing the runner to be safe when he would have been out by five feet, the catcher is given an assist and the second baseman is given an error.
The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.
On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.