answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The ball would be foul unless it bounced in fair territory

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-31 13:39:13
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the ball is hit over 3rd base and lands in foul terrtory is the ball fair or foul?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is a ground ball that bounces over third base then lands foul a fair ball?

The bases are in fair territory; therefore, it is a fair ball.


Is a ball considered fair or foul if it pops up lands foul and then rolls into fair territory?

If the ball lands foul past first or third base the ball is foul regardless of where it rolls. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls fair before first/third base, the ball is fair. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls foul past first/third base, the ball is foul. If the ball is touched while it is in foul territory before reaching first or third base it is considered foul and vise versa if it is touched in fair territory. Otherwise whether it is fair or foul is determined by where the ball stops. ** if the ball hits any part of 1st or 3rd base it is a fair ball


Is a Fly ball that pases third base in foul territory but curves and lands in fair territory in the outfield fair or foul?

As long as a batted ball doesn't touch anything in foul territory and lands in the outfield it is a fair ball.


If a batter hits a ball and it goes over the third base bag but lands foul is this a fair or foul ball?

A ground ball its fair. A fly ball is foul.


Ball goes OVER third base bag but lands in foul territory fair or foul ball?

If a fly ball goes over the third base bag and lands in foul territory, the ball is called foul. If a ground ball goes over the third base bag in the air, the ball is fair regardless of where the next bounce is.


A liner that crosses 3rd or 1st in fair territory but lands in foul ground is fair. Why is a ball that hooks over 1st or 3rd in fair territory but lands outside the foul pole a foul and not fair?

The difference is where the ball first touches the ground.For a ball that never touches the ground till after it has left the infield, the ONLY criterion for "fair or foul" is where the ball lands. If a ball is fair as it leaves the infield, but hooks such that it LANDS in foul ground, it is foul. If it lands in fair ground but then rolls or bounces foul, it remains fair. "A FAIR BALL is a batted ball that ... first falls [my emphasis] on fair territory on or beyond first base or third base". Whether the ball was a fly or a liner is irrelevent -- the only question is where it first hits the ground.For a ball that first touches the ground while still in the infield, the criterion is whether it is fair as passes the base. "The ball may zig-zag, back-and-forth, between fair and foul ground an unlimited number of times. The ruling of fair or foul is not made until the ball finally comes to a stop, or is touched, or goes past first or third base." If it bounces OVER the base after first touching the ground in the infield (fair or foul PRIOR to the base is irrelevent), then it is fair, even if it lands in foul ground.


When a pop fly goes over 1st in fair territory and then drifts and lands in foul territory past 1st base is it considered fair or foul?

If the ball first lands in foul territory, then it is a foul ball. If the ball lands in fiar territory and rolls into the foul territory after first base, it's a fair ball. - So, if the ball is in the air in fair territory and drifts to foul after first base still in the air, makes first contact with the ground in foul territory, it's a foul ball.


Is it fair or foul if a ball bounces over first or third into foul ground?

If a ball bounces over the base it is considered a fair ball, regardless if the ball then lands in foul territory.


Can a foul ball be blown fair in baseball?

yes as long as it lands fair it is a fair ball


If a batted ball hits fair and bounces over first or third base and then lands in foul territory is it fair or foul?

In general, if the ball goes over the 1st or 3rd base bag, it is always a fair ball. Unless it goes into the stands, in that case, the ball is always foul.


Is it foul ball if it lands in outfield and then rolls into foul?

No. A ball that first lands in fair territory beyound 1st or 3rd base is considered a fair ball no matter where is rolls after that. However, if this happened in the infield (ie. before 1st or 3rd base) this would be considered a foul ball if the ball stops in foul territory or is first touched in foul territory.


A line drive at the pitchers mound ball hits the mound and deflects back behind home plate and lands out of play Whats the call?

A batted ball that hits the pitcher's mound (or any base) is considered a fair ball. A fair ball that lands out of play is considered a ground rule double.

People also asked