answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-03 12:31:21
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Sports

10 cards

Sample of oath of sportsmanship

What is the most common form of violence in sports

What sport was banned by European missionaries because it was considered immoral

What is another name for non-traditional sports

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What happens when there is strike out and pass ball with two outs?

The drop third strike rule is in effect. Whenever there is a strikeout and the ball is not caught cleanly or bounces in, this rule is in effect EXCEPT when 1st base is occupied. With 2 out, the rule is always in effect.


What is a foul ball considered in softball?

A foul ball is considered a strike in softball if you catch it its an out. but if it bounces of a fence an you catch it its not an out. If it bounces of an that would have been the third stike then its an out


Do 3 foul balls equal 3 strikes?

yes and no. a foul ball on the third strike goes uncaught then it is not a third strike. if a foul ball is caught on the third strike, including a foul tip, the batter is out.


What happens when you bunt a foul ball with two strikes out on hand?

If you bunt foul when you already have 2 strikes, you have just gotten your third strike. This is about the only way to get a 3rd strike on a foul ball. A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. All other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is not caught is it an out?

Yes. Rule 6.05(d) of the MLB Rulebook states that a batter is out if "He bunts foul on third strike".


Are little leaguers supposed to be taught to run on the third strike regardless of whether or not the catcher misses the ball?

No. There is no 'uncaught third strike' rule in Little League. A base runner can advance if a third strike is not caught but the batter may not reach first base due to an uncaught third strike.Majors and minors can't, but juniors and seniors can.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


Why can a batter strikeout and get on first by a wild pitch?

Rule 6.05(b) of the MLB Official Rules states that a batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher or when a third strike is not legally caught by the catcher and first base is occupied with less than two out. Except for the infield fly rule and the uncaught third strike rule, which keeps the defensive team from making an 'error' to make a double play or triple play, the only way a batter can be called out is if a defensive fielder has possession of the baseball. With the uncaught third strike, no one has possession of the ball.


In baseball is it a dropped third strike if the pitcher throws a pitch in the dirt with the count 2-2 and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on one bounce?

It has to be caught it-the-air first. "Dropped Third Strike" is a misleading term. It should be called the "Uncaught Third Strike". So, if the ball touches the dirt before reaching the catcher, it is indeed a dropped third strike.


If a batter bunts a third strike foul and the ball is caught by the catcher is it a fly out or a strike out?

It is a fly out. According to baseball rule 10.15 (a) (4) The pitcher is credited with a strikeout on a 3rd-strike foul bunt, unless "(4)... unless such bunt on third strike results in a foul fly caught by any fielder, in which case the official scorer shall not score a strikeout and shall credit the fielder who catches such foul fly with a putout."


Is a pitched ball that hits the ground before reaching the batter considered to be a dropped third strike?

In MLB, yes. MLB Rule 6.05(b) states that a batter is out when "A third strike is legally caught by the catcher" with the added comment "'Legally caught' means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground".


Is it considered a strike or a ball if a throw by the pitcher bounces before the catcher has it but still passes through the strike zone?

A dropped third strike is a "special case". When a 3rd strike is dropped, the batter becomes a "runner". If the ball bounced as you described and it was a 3rd strike, it will be treated as a hit. Any pitched ball that hits in front of the plate is considered a ball unless, of course, the batter swings at it.


What is the Rules of Baseball Interpretation regarding a runner from third that scores on a play in which no attempt is made to retire a batter who has struck out and the third strike was not caught?

Batter is safe at first base, runner on third scores a run.


Does the catcher have to catch the third strike in his glove to not be considered a passed ball Example ball hits the catcher in the chest rolls down but traps it and does not hits the ground?

You situation has nothing to do with passed balls. You are talking about the "uncaught third strike". And no, as long as the ball does not hit the ground it is considered caught. If the batter traps the ball and he gets it before it hits the ground, he caught it. Bobbling the ball and catching it is an out.


Is the batter out if the catcher catches a tipped ball?

Only on a third strike. If it is tipped and caught at any other time it is simply a strike. Keep in mind that this is only for a foul tip if the ball significantly changes direction in an upward direction and is coming back down then it would considered a pop foul and would be an out if caught.


Is batter out if bunted foul tip is caught by the catcher?

Only if it is on the third strike would the batter be out if he swung through the ball. Otherwise it would just be a strike. If it was a true bunt attempt and the ball did not go directly into the catchers mitt but was deflected up a bit, the batter would be out on any strike.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


When was Third Strike - album - created?

Third Strike - album - was created on 2010-11-15.


Why does a baseball player sometimes have to be thrown out at first on a strike out?

There is a rule called the 'uncaught third strike rule'. MLB Rule 6.09(b) states that a batter becomes a runner when: "The third strike called by the umpire is not caught, providing (1) first base is unoccupied, or (2) first base is occupied with two out; Rule 6.09(b) Comment: A batter who does not realize his situation on a third strike not caught, and who is not in the process of running to first base, shall be declared out once he leaves the dirt circle surrounding home plate." For an out to be recorded, a defensive player must have control of the ball. In the situation of an uncaught third strike, even though the batter has struckout, no defensive player has control of the ball. Therefore, an out cannot be recorded. The batter may attempt to reach first base and a defensive player must throw the ball to first, or tag the batter with the ball, to record the out.


What is the third name for a strike called in bowling?

The third strike bowled in a row is usually called a Turkey.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


Is a tipped ball an out if the catcher catches it?

Only if it's the third strike. A ball tipped by the bat but caught by the catcher without hitting the ground is ALWAYS considered a strike, thus eliminating any controversy on whether the batter actually tipped the ball or not.


If the third strike is not caught in the air by the catcher what happens?

if that happens then the batter tries to make it to first base before the catcher throwes it to the first baseman and if he beat es the ball he is safe


What are the ways a batter can be declared out in softball?

Three strikes, dropped third strike (if the catcher gets them), breaks the rules/ anything illegal or a caught fly ball if the ball doesn't hit the ground.


How do you use strike in a sentence for a third grader?

The drummer will strike the drum.