answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Usually the batter is not out, but if the fielder drops the ball in the act of throwing it to an infielder the batter is out. So your question's answer is no he is not out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2008-10-06 18:39:14
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

1st test match

➑️
See all cards
4.0
β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…β˜†β˜…
4 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the ball is caught and then dropped - while the player is tumbling on the ground - is the batsman out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In cricket what is a court?

You may be thinking of being caught. If a fielder catches the ball after it has been hit by the batsman from a valid ball, within the field of play and before it hits the ground then the batsman is out - caught.


What is a incomplete pass in football?

When a ball is thrown forward but not caught in bounds or dropped and it hits the ground


If it hits your leg pad in cricket and is caught is it out?

In general, no. The ball must touch either bat (including the handle) or the hand hold the bat following a legal delivery, then be caught and controlled without touching the ground, for a catch to be a dismissal. Only if the ball clips the both the bat and the pad and is caught, an umpire should rule it out; this will be ruled a catch even if the batsman is out in another way, unless the batsman is also bowled out. There is of course the chance that a batsman was out lbw and then the ball caught with no contact to the bat/hand; they would then be out lbw.


A 0.650 kg basketball is dropped out of a window that is 6.46 m above the ground. The ball is caught by a person whose hands are 1.32 m above the ground. How much work is done on the ball by its weight?

A 0.650 kg basketball is dropped out of a window that is 6.46 m above the ground. The ball is caught by a person whose hands are 1.32 m above the ground. How much work is done on the ball by its weight?


Cricket fielder tries to run out batsman bat is in air above crease?

If the neither the batsman or the bat are touching the ground in the crease when the ball hits the wickets, the batsman is out. This is why it is important to 'grind your bat' as you run in.


What ways can you be out in cricket?

There are 11 ways of getting out. The most common are bowled, caught, run out or LBW. The 11 are:- 1. Retired - If any batsman leaves the field of play without the Umpire's consent for any reason other than injury or incapacity, he is recorded as being Retired - out unless the opposing captain says he can play on. 2. Bowled - This is where the bowler's delivery hits the stumps and knocks a bail off the top, either directly or after being deflected by the bat or batsman's body. 3. Timed Out - If a new batsman isn't ready to bat within three minutes of the last batsman being out then the new batsman is out. 4. Caught - This is where the ball is caught by any of the fielding team after being struck by the bat or the batsman's gloves before the ball hits the ground. 5. Handled the Ball - If the batsman touches the ball without the fielders' permission then the batsman is out on appeal. 6. Hit the Ball Twice - This is where the batsman intentionally hits the ball twice with the bat, usually to stop the ball hitting the stumps or to stop the ball being caught. 7. Hit wicket - This is where the batsman knocks a bail off the top off the stumps either with the bat or leg. A batsman isn't out if the batsman hits the wicket to prevent a run-out or a part of the batsman's equipment falls off onto the stumps. 8. Leg Before Wicket (LBW) - If the batsman uses any part of his body to block a bowl that would have hit the wicket, then the batsman is out. The batsman is only out if the point of impact is within the lines between the batsman's and bowler's stump if the batsman hits a stroke or the ball hits the batsman outside the off-stump or between the lines between the stumps if the batsman doesn't hit a stroke. 9. Obstructing the Field - If the batsman obstructs the fielders either by actions or words then the batsman is out, but the batsman can stand in front of the fielders. The batsman can be given out for obstruction if they hit the ball being thrown back to the stumps. 10. Stumped - If the batsman steps over the crease and leaves no part of his body or bat on the ground behind the crease, then the wicket-keeper can knock a bail off the stumps then the batsman is out. This is usually done with spin bowling as the wicket-keeper is close to the stumps. 11. Run-out - This is where the fielder uses the ball to knock the bails off the stumps when the batsman is running between the creases. The batsman closest to the broken stumps is out. Batsmen can't be out if any part of the batsman's body or bat is behind the crease unless both batsmen are behind the same crease. A run-out can only be called if a fielder has touched the ball, so if the batsman hits the ball into the other batsman's stumps then no batsmen are out.


Who was the batsman who hit the longest six at the Melbourne cricket ground?

cricket is an insect


A cricket and a football are dropped simultaneously from the top of Qutub Minar what will be the outcome?

The football will hit the ground and probably stay there. The cricket ball will be caught before it hits the ground and used enthusiastically by the grateful kiddies.


What does batsman have to do to score six runs?

To hit a six, the batsman must hit the cricket ball over the boundry rope without the ball touching the ground.


Rule concerning a ball caught in the air and dropped when hitting the ground?

If there were less than 2 outs and were runners on base, the runners go back to their bases and the batter is out.


In cricket what is the legside?

Leg side is the side opposite to the strong side of the batsmans arms. If a batsman is right handed, the side of the ground to his left is leg side. Similarly if a batsman is left handed, the side of the ground to his right is the leg side.


If a batsman hits the ball into the helmet of the wicketkeeper and it is caught is this out or not?

Not out. See Law 32.3e (a fair catch). If the ball hits a fielder's protective helmet this is not a fair catch and the batsman is not out, although the ball remains in play. MCC Laws of cricket: http://www.lords.org/laws-and-spirit/laws-of-cricket/laws/law-32-caught,58,AR.html However, if the helmet was on the ground and not his head, then the fielding team is penalised 5 runs and the ball is declared dead - he is not out.

People also asked