Best Answer

In general, no. The ball must touch either bat (including the handle) or the hand hold the bat following a legal delivery, then be caught and controlled without touching the ground, for a catch to be a dismissal. Only if the ball clips the both the bat and the pad and is caught, an umpire should rule it out; this will be ruled a catch even if the batsman is out in another way, unless the batsman is also bowled out. There is of course the chance that a batsman was out lbw and then the ball caught with no contact to the bat/hand; they would then be out lbw.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2009-10-03 09:12:58
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

1st test match

See all cards
4 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If it hits your leg pad in cricket and is caught is it out?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What is pad in cricket?

The 'Pad' in Cricket, is the protective object placed on from just above your foot to above your knee. When a ball hits the pad in from of the wicket this is known as LBW (Leg Before Wicket) which means, Your out!

What is lbw rule in cricket?

If the ball hits the batsman's pad (on his leg) and is "hitting" the stumps (so if the batsman wasn't there, it would hit the stumps) then it is out.

If the cricket ball hits the bat then goes onto the leg is it still LBW?

No. If the ball if the ball hits the bat and then goes onto the pad then the batsman cannot be out LBW. The umpire has to spot this of course.

If the bowl hits the arm pad in cricket is it out or not out?

No, it is only glove and bat.

What part of your body must the ball not strike in order to be out in cricket?

Down the knee or the pad on the leg

How do you do a sweep shot international cricket 2010?

by placing your front foot infront of your back leg, your back leg goes onto its knee, and you bring your bat around the front of your pad, hopefully, connecting

Is it out if the ball hits the pad then the bat then caught?

If the pitch hits the plate, it would be called a Ball, but if the batter hits it after the ball bounces off the plate, he's not Out automatically.

What is at the end of an insect's leg?


What are cricket pad made from?

leather with a plastic lining.

What is a bat-pad?

A bat-pad is a fielding position in cricket very close to the batsman, or a fielder in this position.

In cricket leg spinner bowls a ball that pitched out side the leg stump hit batsman's pad at lower level and he was at back foot in front of stumps was that out or not?

Not out. You cannot be out lbw if the ball pitches outside leg stump, so assuming that nothing else untoward happened bar that described in the question, that is not out.

What brand did tendulkar use for bat?

Morrant ultralite cricket pad :)

People also asked