answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Sac with error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-22 17:19:06
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If on a sacrifice bunt there is a throwing error is that scored an error or a sac with an error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does an infield error in baseball count as an at bat?

It counts as an at bat in all cases except the sacrifice. If a batter attempts a sacrifice bunt and one of the infielders makes an error when fielding or throwing the ball, the batter is credited with a sacrifice and no time at bat.


Can a batter reach base on a sacrifice bunt?

No. By definition it is not a sacrifice unless the batter is out. The correct answer is yes. The runner can reach base during a sacrifice on a throwing error or a fielders choice.


If a hitter executes a sacrifice bunt advancing a runner to second or third base but no run scores does this count as an at bat when scoring?

No, a bunt that is scored as a sacrifice is never charged as an at-bat.


What is a sacrifice bunt?

Official baseball rule 10.09 (a) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the batter advances one or more runners with a bunt and is put out at first base, or would have been put out except for a fielding error. (b) Score a sacrifice bunt when, before two are out, the fielders handle a bunted ball without error in an unsuccessful attempt to put out a preceding runner advancing one base.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error first base?

yes


Can you bunt a home run without defensive errors - if so how?

No, it would require a defensive error(s) to stretch a bunt into a home run - a fielder throwing the ball into the stands, or the like.


Is it scored a sacrifice if you score a runner from third on a ground out to second base?

No. A sacrifice is only recorded on a fly ball or a bunt. There is no such thing as a "sacrifice ground out".


What is it called when you get to first base on a bunt?

A bunt hit is scored as a single.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat if they make an error at first base but you moved the runner to second base?

no


What is a sacrafice bunt?

a sacrifice bunt is when you sacrifice yourself so another player can score


Runner on first Batter lays down sacrifice bunt Pitcher fields ball and throws to second Runner safe at second Is this scored a fielder's choice or a sacrifice bunt for the batter?

Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


If a batter reaches base on an error is it an official at bat?

Yes. The only time it is not an official "At Bat", is if a batter reaches base on a base on balls, hit by pitch or catcher interference. A batter is also not charged with an "At Bat" if he hits a sacrifice fly (a fly ball out that results in a runner tagging up and scoring), or a sacrifice bunt that advances a runner or runners. He is also not charged with an "At Bat" if the batter reaches base as a result of an error on a sacrifice fly or sacrifice bunt.


Does a sac bunt count as an at bat?

No, a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat.


If a batter lays down a bunt with a runner on 1st pitcher fields the ball and overthrows 1st base and the batter gets to 2d on the overthrow is this a 2 base error or a sac and a 1 base error?

That decisionis left up to the person who is the 'official scorer' for the game. If the batter turns and shows bunt before the pitcher throws he usually is credited with a sacrifice whether an error is committed or not. But if the official scorer thinks that the batter was trying for a base hit and not for a sacrifice he may score it solely as an error.


Does a sacrifice bunt hurt your batting average?

No, since a sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat the batter's average stays the same.


How many ways can a batter be credited with an RBI?

A batter can be credited with an RBI for every run that scores because of his hit, sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out, fielder's choice, walk, and when he is awarded first base because of a hit by pitch, interference, or obstruction. If there are fewer than two outs, a batter can also be credited with an RBI after having reached on an error, so long as the run scored on the play was not a result of the error.


Why do you bunt a softball?

You bunt to get on base, just like a hit. You also bunt to sacrifice in order to move runners on base.


How is a bunt scored when advancing a runner but reaching first with no error from the fielder?

This depends on the situation. If the fielder threw to get the runner out and the batter reached 1st due to this, then it would be considered a sacrafice by ruling it a Fielders Choice, and no hit or error would be charged. If the batter bunted and had good placement and was able to reach 1st due to a good bunt and beating the throw, then it would be considered a hit


Does an error count as an at bat?

Yes an error counts as an at bat, but not a hit. You would be 0 for 1 on the play, but your on base percentage goes up because you have reached base safely. Errors can be committed on sacrifice bunts and sacrifice flies. If the official scorer rules a play a sacrifice bunt/fly and an error, the batter is not charged with a time at bat. On base percentage goes down when reaching base on an straight error.


Is a bunt ever scored as a fielders choice and counted as a at bat?

Yes


Can a little league pitcher stop his throwing motion when a hitter shows bunt?

No


How is a sacrifice fly different from a sacrifice bunt?

A sacrifice fly is a fly ball that is caught for an Out, but that allows a runner to tag up and score. A sacrifice bunt is a ball that is "tapped" with the intent of sacrificing an Out (the batter) to advance the runner or runners on base.


Does a sacrifice bunt count as an at bat?

No, a successful sacrifice bunt does not count as an at bat. If the bunt is unsuccessful, the batter is charged with an at bat. Similarly, if the batter beats out the play and is awarded a hit, an at bat is counted. Sacrifice flies, walks, and getting hit by pitch also do not count as at bats. All of these are recorded as Plate Appearances.


Does the batter get a sacrifice if the runner on first tags and goes to second?

Yes as long as the runner advances Assuming you mean the runner tags up on a fly ball and advances to second, it is not scored as a sacrifice, but, simply as a fly out and the batter is charged with a time at bat. If the batter bunt a ground ball, the runner would not be required to "tag up" to advance and the batter would be credited with a sacrifice. If the batter is attempting a sacrifice bunt and pops up and the runner, tags up and somehow advances to second the batter is not credited with a sacrifice.


What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.