answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Sure, the fact that the catcher committed an error by dropping the foul pop up, doesn't effect any action the batter may do. It may, however, effect whether any run or runs that may score are "earned" or "unearned" runs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If catcher drops a foul pop up and batter subsequently gets a hit is batter creditted with a hit?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


In baseball can you make an error on a foul ball?

Yes. A dropped foul ball can be considered an error if the official scorer deems that the player should have caught the ball. The batter will not reach base in this case. However, if the batter subsequently scores a run, the run will be unearned. Notably, an error on a dropped foul ball would not disrupt a pitcher's attempt to record a perfect game.


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


Catcher drops a third strike and overthrows first baseball rolls past left field foul pole out of play Where should the batter who struck out be?

Second base.


If the catcher drops the ball on a walk is the player out?

no


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


Is it possible to strike out but still get to first?

yes in major leagues. im not sure about other leagues. if the batter gets a strike three he may try to go to first but the catcher will attempt to throw him out. it is best to do this play on a third strike that the catcher drops or fumbles. this type of play is rrare


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

No, it is just recorded as a strikeoutYES ... It's scored a strikeout and a 2-3 put out ...Correction:Strikeouts are credited as putouts by the catcher According to Rule 10.09(b)(2)According to Rule 10.15(a)(2&3) a strike out is credited when a 3rd strike is dropped, thus, I suppose it would be a putout technically, however, it would not go down as 2-3 (this would give the putout to the 1st basemen)


HOW can a batter get on base without a hit?

He can either get thrown 4 balls or if he swings and misses the 3rd strike and the catcher drops it, he can run to the base. Other ways: Error by a fielder allows the batter to reach first. Fielder's choice, less than two outs. Fielder obstruction after batted ball. None of the above are counted as hits, but the batter still ends up on base. Batter hit by pitched ball. Catcher interferes with batter's swing (I've not only never seen this, I've not aware that it has ever been called in the last 75 years or so).


Batter strikes out catcher drops third strike runner scores from thirdon steal prior to throw to first for the third out does run score?

yes, unless there are 2 out...then the batter must beat the throw to first for the run to count...just as if he put the ball in play, no runs can score if the batter is put out before reaching 1st base for the final out of the inning


Can balls drop?

No. If a catcher drops the ball, it's considered uncaught. It counts as though the catcher missed the ball entirely. If a pitcher drops the ball, they may be charged with a balk. Obviously, these situations are rare in MLB and all professional play.


The number of strikeouts in an inning of baseball?

There can be an infinite number of strikeouts in one inning. Usually and most of the time there are three but there are times it can be 4 or more. If the catcher drops a third strike and the batter reaches first base safely, that is still recorded as a strikeout for the pitcher.