answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

According to referee Ed Hochuli who is quoted in the article that you can read at the 'Touchdown or No Touchdown' link below, a player who crosses out of bounds is awarded a touchdown if a part of his body touches in the end zone, or the pylon, after the ball crosses the 'imaginary' goal line outside the pylons. I interpret the question to ask if a player lands completely out of bounds but the ball crosses the 'imaginary' goal line outside the pylon, is it a touchdown? The way I understand what I read, the answer is no since no part of the player touched inbounds. Click on the 'Touchdown or No Touchdown' link to read the article and weigh in with your opinions. If I'm understanding your question right, you're asking about the hypothetical goal line that "travels around the world" indefinitely out of bounds. The NFL just changed this rule for the 2008 season, so that the extended goal line no longer exists. The player must now break the plane of the goal line within the field of play, or press the ball against the corner pylon, for the touchdown to count.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-28 14:55:33
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If an NFL player flies out of bounds before crossing the goal line in bounds but the ball crosses the extended goal line out of bounds before the player's body hits the ground is it scored a touchdown?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
People also asked