answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If the player fails to cross the ball where ever the marker is before he physically steps out of bounds then it is not a first down. Although I'm not certain, I think the ball has to cross the marker in bounds as well.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-10 22:12:20
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In NFL if player is in bounds but the ball is out of bounds is it still a 1st down?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the ball down if the tackler touches the ball from out of bounds?

No, only if the player holding it steps out of bounds.


If the ball is fumbled and rolls past the first down marker is it a first down?

A fumble is down when the recovering player is down or when the ball goes out of bounds...so yes, if the ball is fumbled forward and recovered by the offense, or goes out of bounds, past the first down marker, it is a first down. The exception is on fourth down. In the NFL, only the player who fumbled the ball can advance it on fourth down.


If a kick off returner fumbles the ball in the end zone still in play then steps out of bounds can he come back into the endzone and down the ball?

If a player who was out of bounds steps back in and downs the ball, it would be a touchback, and the ball would be spotted on the 20-yard-line. However, that player would get penalized for illegal participation, bringing the ball back some.


Can a player dribble down court lose the ball go out of bounds come back on the court and be the first person to touch the ball?

yes as long as all of your body is in bounds before you touch the ball again


In lacrosse if a ball is shot and a player is chasing down the ball it goes out-of-bounds and they're closest to it does that player get credited for a GROUND BALL stat?

no they do not their team just receives possession


In football can one offensive player call time out while another offensive player has the ball but has not been tackled?

No, a timeout can not be called until the player with the ball is down or out of bounds.


If a player steps on a player out of bounds is he down?

yes


At what times is someone in possession of the ball considered out of bounds if ones knee goes down in bounds but the ball hits out of bounds?

If his knee touches inbounds, he is considered tackled in the field of play, regardless if the the ball ends up out of bounds. The clock will continue to run


If a basketball is shot and hits the top of the backboard is it out of bounds?

Only if it stays there. If it comes down inside the lines, then it's still in play. If the ball touches the very top of the backboard it is considered and declared out of bounds to most referees.


Can a player fall down and is the ball dead and the play ended without being contacted by another player?

NFL: Only if he is out of bounds. However, a player can proclaim himself down to an official, even if the player isn't touched. The official will then consider the ball dead and end the play. High School and college: Yes, it is down, play is whistled dead.


Can a player slide kick a loose ball out of bounds to stop the opponent from recovering it?

Yes but it goes to the team whom may have dropped the ball in the first place. The down starts where the original line of scrimmage.


Is there still a College football force out rule and what is the definition ie if the player is pushed out of bounds while in the air and doesn't have the opportunity to come down?

There is no "force out" in college football. Only one foot is required in bounds for a completed catch, unless a receiver's normal progression to the ground is interrupted by a defensive player (for example, if a receiver was hauled out of bounds when he would have landed in bounds).

People also asked