answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no errors on the play it would stand as an infield hit It would be a fielders choice. Baseball Rulebook section 10.06(d) A base hit shall not be scored in the following case: When a fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner, and in the scorer's judgment the batter-runner could have been put out at first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-02-12 20:47:15
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a runner on 2b hits a ground ball to pitcher who throws to 2b with runner in a run down runner safely gets back to 2b is it a 1b or a FC since no out was recorded for a FC and no error made?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Which happens more often in a season a base runner tagging up at first and making it safely to 2nd or a pitcher getting a no hitter?

a pitcher getting a no hitter


If a runner gets picked off but returns to the base safely is it an error?

no because if he made it safely he is A OK


How many 'strikeouts' can 1 pitcher get credit for in a regulation game?

Unlimited. For example, if it is only a 9 inning game, the maximum a pitcher may get is 27 strike-out outs, however there could be an unlimited number of strikeouts with a missed 3rd strike and first base open with the runner reaching base safely.


What would held you float safely to the ground from an airplane?

A parachute would help you float safely to the ground from an airplane.


If a runner is hit with the ball running to secondbase is the batter credited with a hit when there is two outs?

No. Runner must reach 1st safely.


What energy is a base runner slides safely into third base?

kinetic


If a runner crosses the plate before the third out is called does the run score.?

The batter will need to reach 1st base safely (credited with reaching safely by hit or error) before any runs count on a play where a 3rd out is recorded. If the batter and all runners required to run advance to the next base safely, any player crossing the plate before the out will count. If all players required to run DO NOT safely advance then no runs will count even if they cross the plate before the out is recorded (much like many rules in baseball there are several scenerios, those need to be discussed on the discussion page)


Can parrots land safely?

Yes, parrots can land safely on the ground. WHAT ABOUT IN TREE?~


There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


How do you score a swinging third strike and passed ball when runner reaches safely?

Unearned run


What is a putout of a base runner who is required to run and cannot make it to the next base safely?

a force out.


What energy transformation occurs when a base runner slides safely into third base?

kenetic


What is run in softball?

A run in softball is when a base runner makes it safely around the bases and touches home plate. The team the runner is for is then given a point, also known as a run.


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


Is it a force out at second base if the out at first occurs before the out at second?

No, once the runner heading for first base is out, the runner heading toward second base may safely return to first.


What should you do if you are caught in a flood?

Safely get to higher ground.


What is a rundown in softball?

When the ball is thrown to a base where the runner is trying to advance. The runner instead of continuing to the base stops and tries to return to the base from which they came. The fielder then throws the ball to that base causing the runner to change their direction again and so forth until the runner is tagged out or safely reaches a base.


Runner on 1st balk is called on pitcher before the batter hits the ball?

In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored.


How do you score a point in baseball baseball?

Well in baseball you score runs. There is many ways you can score a run. Here are some ways: 1.) Homerun, 2.) A triple and then someone hits a single/double/homerun/sac fly, 3.) Two doubles in a row, 4.) A single and then a triple or homerun, and 5.) A batter gets a triple and then the pitcher throws a wild pitch and the runner scores.the technical answer is to have a runner or a batter/runner touch home plate safely after touching all 3 bases in order 1st 2nd 3rd than touch home before 3 outs are recordedThere are many ways to score in baseball.


The number of strikeouts in an inning of baseball?

There can be an infinite number of strikeouts in one inning. Usually and most of the time there are three but there are times it can be 4 or more. If the catcher drops a third strike and the batter reaches first base safely, that is still recorded as a strikeout for the pitcher.


If a batter hits a ball where they would otherwise safely reach first and a runner currently on a base gets tagged out due to a base running error is this considered a fielders choice?

That would depend on whether the runner that made the base running error was forced out. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner trips and falls between first and second and the left fielder throws to second and gets the runner out, it would be considered a force out and the batter would not get credited with a hit. But if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner rounds second base too far and the left fielder throws to second and the runner is tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit.Answer:The above is incorrect. In order for the batter to receive a Fielder's Choice and not be credited with the hit, the scorer must determine that the batter would not have safely reached 1st base. In simple terms: "the fielder COULD have thrown out the batter, but CHOSE not to". In the example above, the left fielder could not have thrown out the batter at first. The batter is awarded the hit and the defense records a 7-4 put out.A force out does not determine a Fielder's choice. If there is a runner on 2nd with 1st empty: If the batter hits a sharp ground ball to second basemen who fields the ball cleanly and attempts to throw out the runner advancing from 2nd, the batter is given the fielder's choice whether the advancing runner is safe or out at 3rd.


Can you put the word parachute in a sentence?

The man jumped out of a plane using a parachute so he would fall safely to the ground. We used a parachute so we could land safely on ground.


Can a pitcher be charged a fielding error?

Yes. Once the pitched ball is batted, a pitcher becomes a fielder. If he makes an attempt to field a ball and rightfully should be able to score a putout but fails, he can be charged a fielding error. One example would be a bunted ball where the pitchers moves to pick it up with his glove, but instead hits it away from himself, allowing the batter-runner to safely reach first base. The pitcher made an attempt to field the ball and should have had the batter out, but he failed.


Why birds can sit on power lines safely?

because there is no connection with the ground so it cannot pass from the electric to ground


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.