answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Before the 08-09 season, this would be considered a catch. The rules have changed this year and unless the player gets both feet inbounds, it is not a catch. Good rule change IMO as the offense has too many rules in their favor already.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-01-30 03:11:42
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a receiver catches a ball and is pushed out of bounds is it a legal catch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a receiver who was pushed out of bounds come back in bounds and make a catch?

Yes


Can a receiver catch a pass after being pushed out of bounds in football?

If they are inbounds when they catch the ball, it is okay. Catching it out of bounds doesn't count, even if you were pushed. And if you caught it inbounds, but were pushed out of bounds before your feet came down, it can be ruled as a legal catch.


Is it a catch when the receiver catches the ball gets 2 feet in has possession then hits ground out of bounds and drops ball NFL football?

Answer Yes.


In the NCAA if a receiver makes a catch and his first foot comes down out of bounds and his second foot in bounds is it a catch?

No. The first foot has to be in bounds.


When the receiver catches the ball the pass is a?

Reception or a catch.


Is there still a College football force out rule and what is the definition ie if the player is pushed out of bounds while in the air and doesn't have the opportunity to come down?

There is no "force out" in college football. Only one foot is required in bounds for a completed catch, unless a receiver's normal progression to the ground is interrupted by a defensive player (for example, if a receiver was hauled out of bounds when he would have landed in bounds).


Out of bounds pass in football?

In American Football, if a player has one foot out of bounds when he catches the football, he is out of bounds. If he has is in bounds when he catches the football then he caught it and it is a completed catch. If the player goes out of bounds and comes back in bounds and catches the football it is still an incomplete pass. However, if he was knocked out of bounds or if the ball was tipped, it may be a completed pass. The rules keep changing at all levels of the game.


Can a football receiver be forced out of bounds and come back in and catch the ball?

If the receiver is forced out of bounds by a defender and immediately returns to the field of play, then yes, he can legally catch the ball. If he runs out of bounds voluntarily, then he cannot be the first person to touch the ball.


After being forced out can a receiver come back in bounds and catch the ball?

No if you play for Tampa bay


Are stats upheld if a receiver catches a ball then fumbles?

If the pass is ruled a catch then a fumble..the receiver receives the yards from the pass...and is credited with a fumble


How many feet must touch to be a legal catch?

In the NFL, a receiver must have both feet land inbounds for the catch to be legal. In college ball, a receiver must have only one foot land in bounds for the catch to be legal.


What constitutes a legal catch in the NFL.?

A receiver must have possession of the ball with both feet inbounds for a catch to be legal. A rule passed for the 2008 season has eliminated the 'force out' as a legal catch. Prior to the 2008 season, if a receiver was in the air when catching the ball and a defender hit him and knocked him out of bounds before he landed the referee could allow the catch to stand by ruling the receiver would have landed inbounds had he not been forced out of bounds by the hit. Now, that ruling has been eliminated.

People also asked