answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-06-05 02:58:15
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a pitched ball hits home plate is it a strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate?

Strike


If a ball hits the plate is it a strike?

No, it would be a ball because it would be out of the strike zone as it crossed the plate.


If the ball is pitched and the batter doesn't swing but the ball hits the bat what is the call?

It is a strike.


Is it a strike if the ball hits the ground before home plate and the batter hits it?

Yes. If the batter swings, it's a strike.


If the ball hit the dirt first an then hit you do you take a base?

Yes, you are awarded first base. When a pitched ball hits the ground before reaching home plate it does not become a dead ball. You can swing and miss and it is a strike. You can swing and hit the ball and it is a live ball. If the ball bounces and then comes up over the plate it can NOT be a called strike.


Is it considered a strike or a ball if a throw by the pitcher bounces before the catcher has it but still passes through the strike zone?

A dropped third strike is a "special case". When a 3rd strike is dropped, the batter becomes a "runner". If the ball bounced as you described and it was a 3rd strike, it will be treated as a hit. Any pitched ball that hits in front of the plate is considered a ball unless, of course, the batter swings at it.


If a ball hits only the black edge of home plate is it a ball or strike?

if the ball hits the black edge of the home plate this means it is a ball. hope I helped. if you have anyome more trouble email and I can help(:


Can it be a strike to swing at a ground ball?

A pitched ball that touches the ground is a live ball. If the batter swings and misses, it is a strike. If the batter swings and hits the ball, it is treated as any other hit ball.


Softball rules can batter hit ball after it hits the ground?

no absolutely not it is an automatic strike If the ball is pitched and hits the ground before it gets to the batter and the batter then hits the ball it is a legal hit.


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


When trying to bunt the batter is hit by pitch?

If the batter has the bat out over the plate when the ball hits them it is a strike... As long as the batter makes an attempt at the ball, like pushing or moving the bat to the ball then yes it would be a strike if they were hit.If the batter simply has the bat over the plate and is hit by the pitch out of the strike zone then its not a strike.


If a batter hits the ball but it hits the batter then home plate is it fair?

if it hits off the bat then the batter its autmatically foul but if they completely miss then its a strike

People also asked