answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In short, no.

A goal kick is not complete (the ball in not yet in play) until the whole of the ball crosses the whole of the penalty area line and into the field of play. If the goalkeeper touches the ball before it completely leaves the penalty area, the goal kick must be retaken. If the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hands after the ball has left the penalty area and become "in-play", then he is guilty of a handling infraction because the ball is not within the keeper's own penalty area anymore. Either the ball is still in the penalty area or it isn't; it can't be both.

This is all without even considering the fact that a goalkeeper cannot handle a ball that has been intentionally kicked to him by a teammate, the so-called "pass-back" rule.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-08-17 08:08:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

An arrow is shot straight up at an initial velocity of 250 ms How long will it take to hit the ground

Convert this number to scientific notation 278000

What is the metric system prefix for the quantity 0.001

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.17
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a defender takes a goal kick and passes it to his own goalkeeper on the edge of the penalty area is the goalkeeper allowed to pick it up and carry it back into the penalty area?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is the passback rule?

If a defender passes the ball back to his own goalkeeper using his feet then the keeper cannot pick it up, he can only use his feet to clear or pass the ball. however if the defender passes the ball back to his keeper using another part of his body (excluding arms and hands) then the goalkeeper can pick it up.


Is it allowd if the defender passes the ball to the goalkeeper and grabs it with his hands?

It is not allowed for a goal keeper to take possession of the ball with his hands if it has been deliberately kicked to him from the feet of a team-mate. To do so is an indirect free kick offense.


When is the goalkeeper not allowed to pick up the ball?

When their are outside their own Penalty Area. When their teammate passes it to them deliberately with their feet. When their teammate directly performs a throw-in to them. After, after having possession of the ball in their hands, they release the ball. (dribbling doesn't count)


Indirect soccer kicks?

They are given when a defender passes the ball with his feet (his head or chest don't count for this rule) to his goalkeeper and the goalkeeper touches the ball with his hand or arm. The ball is placed where it was at that time (inside or outside the penalty box, not necessarily on the penalty spot), and the attacking team must make a pass before shooting. Walls must be at least 9.15 metres away from the ball (and at most on the goal line) and can contain any number of defensive players.


Defender back passes to keeper?

If a defender passes the ball with his feet to the goal keeper, the goal keeper may not touch the ball with their hands.


What are the goal keepers boundaries?

The goalkeeper has no boundaries and may play anywhere on the field just like any other player. The goalkeeper may use his hands anywhere within his own penalty area without fear of a deliberate handling offense. There are some restrictions on his use of hands in the case of team-mate throw-ins and passes with the feet.


What is a bounce pass?

player passes the ball with a bounce to his team mates after faking defender


When a defender passes or heads the ball away from the goal area?

There is no question being asked


What a soccer player does to the ball?

A player kicks it, chests it, passes it, or throws it (from a throw in), a goalkeeper kicks it, catches it and throws it.


What is a penalty pass in netball?

I play netball myself and I've had Had a a few penalty passes. They are a pass that is given to a player who has been contacted or obstructed by the opposing team.


What is the penalty called when a quarter back passes the line of scrimige and throws the ball?

illegal forward pass


Is it a penalty kick if the goalie picks the ball up when her own player passes it to her?

No. It is an indirect free kick.

People also asked