answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2009-05-12 08:06:19
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter hits a foul ball that is caught by the first base coach in front of first base just before the first baseman can catch the ball is the batter out on interference?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the third strike is not caught in the air by the catcher what happens?

if that happens then the batter tries to make it to first base before the catcher throwes it to the first baseman and if he beat es the ball he is safe


After hitting a fly ball the batter assuming it will be caught for an out jogs toward and almost to the dugout the outfielder drops the ball and the batter runs to first Is he safe?

if the ball doesnt get to the first baseman before the batter does than yes, the batter would be safe and then benched(hence jimmy rollins)


If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.


How do you get a force -play in baseball?

Lets say there is a man on first base, and the batter gets an infield ground hit that is picked off by the shortstop. The shortstop throws the ball to the 2nd baseman who steps on 2nd base before the runner a at 1st can reach it. This is a force out as the 2nd baseman does not have to tag the incoming runner. If the shortstop caught the ball before the ball hit the ground and can throw the ball to the 1st baseman before the runner at 1st can get back and put his foot on the bag, then that would also would be a force out.


When can a baseman tag the base for an out?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


Is the batter out if he hits the ball and it ricochets off of a runner and the ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground?

Rules 6.08(d) and 7.08(f) say that if a fair batted ball hits a runner in fair territory before touching or passing an infielder, then the runner is out for interference. The ball is dead, and all runners must return to the base last occupied, unless forced by the batter who is awarded 1B. As soon as the ball hits the runner, it is dead, so it doesn't matter what happens...caught or not caught...after that.


Is a baseball caught in the stands an out?

If it is caught by the player in the stands with no interference (such as a fan tipping the ball up), it is an out.


When was the first triple play in MLB?

The first recorded triple play was by the Hartford Dark Blues on May 13, 1876 in a game against the New York Mutuals. With runners on first and second the Mutuals tried a hit and run. The batter hit a hard line drive to the second baseman who caught the ball for out #1. The second baseman threw to the first baseman to double off the runner for out #2. The first baseman then threw back to the second baseman to catch the runner off second base for out #3.


How many fouls can a batter get?

As long as none of the foul balls are caught before they touch the ground, there is no limit.


Who caught the final out of the 1962 World Series?

Yankees second baseman Bobby Richardson.


What is the call if the on-deck batter hits a borderline uncatchable foul ball pop up with his bat?

He'd probably get called out for interference, if the ump thought the catcher would have otherwise caught it.


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.

People also asked