answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

fair

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-30 03:45:22
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batted ball hits foul but drifts fair and crosses over the 1st base bag is it fair or foul?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batted ball hits fair and bounces over the foul line between home plate and 1st base and the 1st baseman catches the ball in foul territory before it hits the ground is it fair or foul?

If a batted ball lands in fair territory but then crosses the foul line BEFORE passing or touching first or third base, then it is a FOUL ball. If a batted ball lands in fair territory between first and third base, bounces in the air, and crosses into foul territory before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball, even if caught on the bounce in foul territory by the first or third baseman.


Is the ball in play if the ball hits out after it passes third base?

If the ball lands inside the lines after is crosses 3ed base and rols out it is still "in play"


If a base runner is hit by a batted ball is he out if it goes past 2 fielders?

A Base runner is out anytime a batted ball hits him, unless he is touching a base.


Ball goes out before completely going over the base is it fair?

if a batted ball bounces in the infield and crosses over any part of 1st or 3rd base it is to be ruled a fair ball. If the ball has not bounced on the infield, the call is made depending on where it first touches the ground. if in fair territory or on the line it is a fair ball, outside the line is a foul ball. Any ball that physically hits 1st or 3rd base is a fair ball


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


Is a base runner out when hit by a thrown ball?

No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.


When a pop fly goes over 1st in fair territory and then drifts and lands in foul territory past 1st base is it considered fair or foul?

If the ball first lands in foul territory, then it is a foul ball. If the ball lands in fiar territory and rolls into the foul territory after first base, it's a fair ball. - So, if the ball is in the air in fair territory and drifts to foul after first base still in the air, makes first contact with the ground in foul territory, it's a foul ball.


What happens to the batter runner and other base runners if a batted ball hits a runner before passing an infielder?

If a runner is touched by a batted ball while off base before the ball passes an infielder (other than the pitcher), it's dead ball, runner is out. If the runner is on base when touched by a batted ball, it's live ball and play continues.


Forced outs in baseball?

when a runner is called out because the opposing team retrieves a batted ball and throws or runs it to the base that is one base ahead of the base he was on before the ball was batted, and he was 'forced to advance a base' because there were no open bases behind him. for example, if a man is on first base and a ball is batted in the field of play, he must reach 2nd base before the opposing team gets the ball to 2nd base...if not, he is 'forced out'


Is a runner out if hit by batted ball while standing on a base?

No


Runner on base gets hit with batted ball is he out?

yep


What is the official score when a base runner is hit by a batted ball?

If a base runner is hit by a batted ball before the ball contacts, or passed an infielder they are out... once the ball passes, or is contacted by an opposing player there is no penalty for being hit.

People also asked