answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, that is considered a homerun.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-03 23:20:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a ball hits the foul pole and a player catches the ball is the batter out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


What is a foul out?

When the batter hits the ball into foul territory, and an opposing player catches it in foul territory on the fly.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


Is an out called if the batter nicks the ball and the catcher catches it before it hits the ground?

Only if it is on a third strike. That would be considered a foul tip and, by official rule, is different from a foul ball. A foul tip is when the catcher catches a ball that is 'tipped' by the batter and the ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. If the catcher drops the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip.


What happens when a defensive player catches a foul ball in baseball?

It is an out, just like when it is a fair ball that is caught.


If a batter hits a ball in the air and it drops inside line before it reaches first base and is caught on the hop in foul territory is this fair or foul ball?

The ball is fair.If it bounces fair and the player catches it then steps in foul territory,it's fair because he touched the baseball before it went foul.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


Can a base runner be thrown out if a foul ball is hit?

Yes, the ball is still considered foul if the a player catches it. They can be thrown out when trying to tag after the fly ball is caught.


If a foul hit is caught then the batter is out?

Yes. If a foul ball is caught by a defensive player before it hits the ground the batter is out.


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


If a batted ball hits the batter is he out?

If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.

People also asked