answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

There is alot of answers to this questions. If the batter is inside the batters box then it is a foul ball even if the ball hit fair territroy first. If the batter is outside the batter's box then the batter is called out. But if the batter is bunting with a 2 strike count and touches the ball inside the batter's box, then he is out because it is considered to be a fould ball and a two strike foul ball bunt is an out. Also if the batter bunts with a one strike count or less and touches the ball inside the batter's box then it is a fould ball but again if he touched the ball after bunting the ball outside the batter's box then it is an out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-11-08 16:40:56
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a ball hits the dirt then the batter What is the call?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a batted ball hits the batter is he out?

If the ball hits the batter in fair territory, the batter is ruled out. If the ball hits the batter in foul territory or the batter's box, the call is a foul ball.


If a batter is hit by a ball in the batter's box after he hits the ball what is the call?

foul ball


Pitched ball hits ground then batter?

If the ball hits the ground in play then it hits the batter it is call a hit by pitch and the batter will take first base ... You can also hit the ball as it bounces off the ground ...


If the ball is pitched and the batter doesn't swing but the ball hits the bat what is the call?

It is a strike.


If a pitcher throws a ball that hit the dirt and the batter swings and hits it is a fair ball?

It Is Fair As Long As The Batter Swings And They Hit The Ball... As Long As It Is Inside The Foul Lines The Ball Is In Play.


A batter hits the ball its hits home plate then the batter?

it depends on whether the batter is still in the batter's box when the ball hits him. If he is in the batter's box then the ball is foul. If he is out of the batter's box and the ball hits him in fair territory then the batter is out.


The Pitcher throws towards home plate. the ball bounces in the dirt before home plate and it hits the batter is it a dead ball or hit batter?

It is a dead ball and the batter is awarded first base and is ruled a hit by pitch


What happens if a pitched ball bounces and the batter hits it?

It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.


If a ball is pitched the batter hits it and it hits a bird what is the call?

It's still a live ball and the runner(s) can advance at their own risk.


If a batter is hit by a pitch after the ball hits his bat while trying to get out of the way of the pitch and not swinging or bunting at it does the batter go to first base?

No. If the ball hits the batter's bat first there can be no call of hit by pitched ball. Added: It is actually a foul ball and a strike.


Is it a dead ball if the ball hits the ground before the batter hits it?

No, the ball is not dead and the batter may attempt to hit it.


A batter is in the batters box the pitcher throws and the batter hits the ball into his foot and the ball goes foul but what is the call?

its a dead ball and a strike, but not strike 3, just like a foul.

People also asked