answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

if the ball was hit to shortstop and fielded cleanly and a play was made at the plate and the runner safe you would record the run scored as usual, preferably by filllng in the diamond with your pencil and can put fielders choice. You fill in each run scored to make it easier to count

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-24 22:42:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How do record a hit to short stop when runners on 3rd and 2nd runner on 3rd goes home play is made on that runner but they are safe.?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can runners advance on wild pitch that goes out of play?

The runner is awarded one base


What happens when a baseball hits a base runner and goes into the dugout?

According to MLB rule 7.08(f) "A runner is out when ... He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance." Since the ball is dead the instant it touches the runner, where it goes afterwards is irrelevant.


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


What if a baseball is over thrown in dugout and there is a runner on base?

the all base runners will take one (1) base... if the ball goes it the stands the all runners take two (2) Bases...


If a pitched ball hits catcher and goes out of play what happens to the runners?

It is ruled a dead ball and each base runner would advance one base.


What happens if in baseball the ball goes into the runners jersey?

If you are referring to runners already on base, then that runner is considered out because of interference with the ball that was in play.Clarification:Above answer refers to a batted ball that was not touched by a defensive player first. In a situation where a thrown ball or a deflected ball gets stuck in a offensive player's (runner's) jersey then it is a dead ball. The runners will get to advance to the base they are going to and then the play is over


Runners on 1st and 2nd ball is hit to shortstop the runner from second to third takes three steps off the bag and goes back to second the shortstop tags runner standing on second and then tags bag?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


In softball a runner already occupies 1st then ball is thrown OB so 1st base runner awarded third base on a dead ball but runner goes directly to third without touching 2nd base so is the runner out?

The rules state that runners must advance by legally touching each base in succession. In this case, the runner must touch 2B before advancing to 3B, and if she does not, she can be called out on appeal.


What happens when batter bunts. throw goes to third runner is safe?

The runner is safe at third and the runner is safe at first.


Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over


Is it a hit if a runner goes for extra bases?

yup it is


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


Is there a tie goes to the runner rule in little league baseball?

There is no such rule as "tie goes to the runner" in baseball or softball. That is a common misconception. The umpire must judge whether the runner beat the ball or vise versa.


Is the runner alllowed to advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

YES... the ball is always live till the umpire stops play ... if the ball goes into the dugout the runner get one (1) base if the goes into the stands the runner take two (2) bases... if there's a runner on base they take the next open base...


What is the difference between a sucker and a runner?

a runner is what goes along the ground and a sucker is what sticks to the runner to hold it down and the plant runs a long the ground.


Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught and runner on first goes to second without tagging up and is thrown out at first does the run count?

No. On any play if there is a force out on any base, the run scoring does not count. If the runner on first tagged up and then was tagged out at second, while trying to advance, and the runner touched home plate before the runner was tagged out at second then the run would have counted. The above answer is incorrect. The run does count because it is technically not a force out. It goes under the off the base category. The runner is returning to the bag, he is not forced to proceed to the next bag which negates the run from scoring.


Why do road runners go beep beep?

That is in the classic cartoon, where he goes Meep Meep!


How fast does a baja 90cc dirt runner go?

It goes 65mph


When a runner needs more energy for a longer race how does the body generate the necessary ATP?

Goes from aerobic respiration of carbohydrate to anaerobic respiration of carbohydrate. In the case of marathon runners aerobic respiration of fatty acids will follow depletion of carbohydrate reserves (glycogen).


What order does The Maze Runner series go in?

it goes 1 the maze runner 2 the scorch trials 3 the death cure


Is there an actual rule in the MLB rule book that states that a tie does in fact go to the runner?

The rule is rule 6.05 the subsection is (j). Here is what it says, "After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base" In a tie the runner or the base is not tagged BEFORE the runner touches first so it can be interpreted as a tie goes to the runner. But it really is that the base or runner must be tagged before the runner reaches the base. Rule 6 applies specifically to the batter. Rule 7 applies to all runners. Rule 7.08 subsection (e) states that: Any runner is out when He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. In this situation, the "tie" goes to the fielder. So putting these two rules together, a tie goes to the batter/runner at first and to the fielder for all other bases. In actual practice, umpires are instructed that there is no such thing as a tie and that they must determine what has happened first. Well actually according to Tim McClelland, MLB Umpire Crew Chief, a tie does not go to the runner, in the rules it states that a runner must beat the ball to the base so in fact the tie does not go to the runner.


If a batted ground ball hits a base runner who is on the base is the runner safe or out?

A batted ball that hits a runner in fair territory, without first being touched by a defender (or passing a fielder other than the pitcher) results in -- a dead ball, runner is ruled out, and the batter gets first base. According to the old rules, batter is credited with a single, but currently the batter is credited with a fielder's choice unless the umpire judges that the ball would have been a single. The putout goes to the nearest defensive player. Being on base doesn't change the situation. The only exception is if the base runner, while on the base (force or not), is hit by an Infield Fly. Ref 7.08. "Any runner is out when... (f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;"


Can he advance after he is hit by a thrown ball if it goes out of bounds?

NO... anyball landing foul is a foul ball and is a dead ball ...Clarification:the way i read this question is "if a thrown ball hits a runner and goes out of play can the runner advance?" -- If this is the question you are asking, then, yes, a runner can advance on a thrown ball that goes out of play. Runner will be allowed to advance 1 base after the ball goes out of play. The only time this wouldn't be the case is if the runner was running to 1st and the ball hits him and it is deemed interference, he would then be called out.The question is a bit unclear, so it really depends on what you are asking


What nicknames does Ann Farrar go by?

Ann Farrar goes by Road Runner.