answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

dead ball, the runner is out and the putout goes to the closest fielder...the batter gets credit for a hit and if there are other runners that are forced to advance by the batter getting first (in this case, a runner on first), he gets to advance also...if there are 2 outs, the batter still gets credit for a hit but the inning is over

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-15 09:51:02
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runner on second is hit by the batted ball while running to third. How is this recorded?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


Runner 1st and second baseball hit by batter hits runner on way to 2nd Who is out and are any bases awarded?

advancing runner struck by the batted ball is out.


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


A long distance runner started on a course running at the average speed of 6mph one half hour later a second runner began the same course at an average speed of 7mph how long after the second runner?

9 hours


How many feet per second could a human run?

It depends on the individual and how fast he or she is running. Let's take the example of a runner who is capapble of running a 4 minute mile. For the record, that's not me. I might be able to finish the mile in ten or fifteen minutes, and I'd probably need help. A mile is 5,280 feet. Running that distance in 4 minutes is the same as 240 seconds. Dividing 5,280 by 240 means that the runner is running 22 feet per second. If the runner is sprinting, he could probably go further in a second. (but not me) If the runner is jogging 20 miles he would probably not go anywhere near that far in a second.


Is it a sacrifice if a runner is on third with one out and the batter grounds out to second base with the runner on third scoring?

Most official scorers won't record that as a sacrifice but it could be recorded as one.


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


What is a double steal?

say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and say there is a runner on 1st and 2nd. the runner on second would run to 3rd and be safe then the runner on 1st would run twould be safeo second and


Is a running out at second base on a infield fly rule if the ball hits the runner while standing on the base?

No, as long as he is on the base he is safe


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


When is a base runner forced to run?

When a runner is on a base that a batter or another base runner is required to run to, the former is forced to run to the next base. Two examples and a counter-example: 1) A runner begins the play on first base, and the ball is batted fair. Since the batter is required to go to first base, the runner that began on that base is forced to go to second base, and remains required to do so until the batter is out. 2) Runners begin the play on first base and on second base, and the ball is batted fair. As noted in example (1), the runner on first base is forced to go to second. Thus, the runner that began on second is now forced to go to third base. If either the batter or the runner that began on first base become out, then this requirement is cancelled. 3) A runner begins the play on third base, and the ball is batted fair. The runner MAY advance from third towards home, but is not FORCED to do so. That's because the batter is only required to run to first, and there is no requirement that the runner on third leave his base.


If first base runner is hit in foot by grounder while running to second is he out?

If the ball hits the runner before it passes a defensive player other than the pitcher, he is out. If the ball has passed another player (like the 2nd baseman) and then it hits the runner he is not out.


With runners on first and third the batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman who tags the runner going to second base before he reaches it does the run count?

Not if that is the 3rd out in the inning...even if he tagged him after the runner reached home... now if the runner over ran the bag and was then tagged the run would count... But in the case of a force out or fielders choice to end the inning the run would not count. It doesn't matter whether the out was recorded by stepping on the base or by tagging the runner. The important thing is that the runner did not reach the base to which he was forced to run. The same would be true if the batter was tagged out while running to first.


What is the answer to A track runner begins running from the starting line and reaches a race pace of 4 min per mile in 5 s What is the runner s acceleration?

It is 4.4 feet per second-squared.


If a runner reaches second base then retreats can the runner still be forced out at second?

If s/he touches Second Base he can't retreat.


Is it scored a sacrifice if you score a runner from third on a ground out to second base?

No. A sacrifice is only recorded on a fly ball or a bunt. There is no such thing as a "sacrifice ground out".


What is the name of the third person who wins in a competition?

The third place win is usually referred to as the second runner up. The winner is first, the runner up is second, the second runner up is third.


Runners on 1st and 2nd ball is hit to shortstop the runner from second to third takes three steps off the bag and goes back to second the shortstop tags runner standing on second and then tags bag?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.


Two runners occupying third base can a runner go back to second?

The second runner can, assuming he hasn't crossed in front of the lead runner. If he does that, they are both called out.


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction


Runners on third and second fielder's choice runner tagged going to third base the run that was on third crossed the plate before the tag does the run count?

No, the play was completed. It would count if the original play was not completed and the runner on second ran back to second, causing a run down and tag as a secondary play. -----Yes, the run counts. The only situation where a run doesn't count when a runner crosses home plate before the third out is recorded is on a force play. For example: the bases are loaded and there are two out. The batter hits a single to right field. The runner from third base scores. The runner on first heads for second and halfway there turns an ankle and falls to the ground. If the right fielder can get the ball back into second before the runner gets up and makes it to second, the runner is out on a force play and all runs that scored before the third out was recorded are disallowed. But, in your question, there is no force play involved therefore the run would count.


What does it mean when someone catches their second wind?

When someone catches their "second wind", it usually refers to a runner who has been running for long enough so that their body releases endorphines, otherwise known as "runner's high". These endorphines give the person much more energy than they previously had.


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes