answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes. Record held by many.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-17 12:44:17
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Has there ever been in the MLB a pitcher who threw a 3 pitch inning?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Has there ever been a pitcher with 5 strikeouts in an inning?

In Major league baseball, there has never been a pitcher who recorded 5 strikeouts in an inning as of August 13th 2012.


What is sentence for pitcher?

This pitcher has been in our family for three generations.


Has there ever been a 3 pitch half inning in the MLB?

Yes


Can any position relief the pitcher in a baseball inning?

If the umpire is informed of a change, players can change the position they are playing at any time when time has been called. In theory, someone playing first base could be moved to be the pitcher. This can happen if a manager has run out of usable pitchers and must use someone who vaguely remembers how to pitch. And, if it is willed, that non-pitcher who gets to pitch can be a hero!


How many pitches in each inning?

There are no set number of pitches in each inning. The absolute shortest number of pitches that could be pitched in one inning is 6, with 3 outs per half-inning, assuming each batter swung at the first pitch resulting in an out. I don't know the most pitches that have been thrown in one inning. I have watched games where a pitcher (or multiple pitchers) have thrown forty or more pitches in one half-inning alone. Until 3 outs have been recorded, a pitcher will continue pitching to batters. If a batter steps into the batters box with an illegal bat, he is immediately called out. If three batters on each team did this, you could have zero pitches thrown in an inning.


Was there ever a 3 pitch inning in major league baseball?

Yes. There have been a few. Check the site.


What is the rule in major league baseball on how ofter a pitcher can pitch?

There are no rules in baseball on how often a pitcher can pitch. The safety and value of the pitcher's arm constitutes how often a pitcher can pitch. Back in the older days pitchers pitched 200 or even 300 pitches a game. This factor was a considerable safety risk. Now the manager and the pitching coach keep close eye on counts of how many pitches have been thrown. Around 100 pitches is when a pitcher usually gets pulled now. Managers are wise to how valuable their pitchers arms are and they try to do their best to let them play to at least the 6th or 7th inning before pulling them. Of course, if a pitcher is shutting out the other team, they'll let him stay in, IF he's okay. It's up to the manager whether or not a pitcher will play in consecutive games. There are no rules that state how many games a pitcher can appear in. There have even been times where a pitcher will start one game, and then in the next game they will be called in as a reliever.


Was there ever a 6 pitch inning where each pitch thrown was hit and out with no extra fouls or strikes?

It would be impossible. If every pitch thrown in one inning was hit and out, there could only be 3 pitches. And yes, there have been MANY of these. Actually, I think the original contributor wanted to know if 3-pitch innings had ever been recorded by both teams in the same inning - thereby leading to a total of 6 pitches for the entire inning. As far as I can tell, there is no record of such a feat in the major leagues, although the following link does provide more information regarding recorded 3-pitch innings: http://www.baseball-almanac.com/feats/3_pitch_inning.shtml.


Fastest 11 year old pitcher?

Jerome Parkinson. When he was alive he threw 80+. Sadly, he was a victim of kid-nap and has never been seen since.


Can a batter switch hit after a pitch has been made in MLB?

Yes, a batter can change from one side of the plate to the either during his at-bat, but he cannot do it once the pitcher is ready to pitch. Rule 6.06(b) states: A batter is out for illegal action when stepping from one batter's box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch.


How many innings must a starting pitcher pitch to win a 7 inning game?

It's five innings. The rule doesn't make much sense unless you understand the lingo, but here it is anyways. (a) The official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher that pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, unless (1) such pitcher is a starting pitcher and Rule 10.17(b) applies; or (2) Rule 10.17(c) applies. Rule 10.17(a) Comment: Whenever the score is tied, the game becomes a new contest insofar as the winning pitcher is concerned. Once the opposing team assumes the lead, all pitchers who have pitched up to that point and have been replaced are excluded from being credited with the victory. If the pitcher against whose pitching the opposing team gained the lead continues to pitch until his team regains the lead, which it holds to the finish of the game, that pitcher shall be the winning pitcher. (b) If the pitcher whose team assumes a lead while such pitcher is in the game, or during the inning on offense in which such pitcher is removed from the game, and does not relinquish such lead, is a starting pitcher who has not completed (1) five innings of a game that lasts six or more innings on defense, or (2) four innings of a game that lasts five innings on defense, then the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the relief pitcher, if there is only one relief pitcher, or the relief pitcher who, in the official scorer’s judgment was the most effective, if there is more than one relief pitcher.


Can a player hide the baseball while pitcher pretends to pitch and tag runner out if he steps off the base?

No, this situation would result in a balk as the pitcher cannot 'pretend' to pitch in an attempt to deceive a baserunner. A fielder may hide the ball, like pretend to throw the ball back to the pitcher and then place the ball in his glove, in an attempt to get a runner to step off a base and tag him out ... this has been called the 'hidden ball trick'. But the pitcher may not step on the pitching rubber if the fielder is attempting this. The pitcher steps on the rubber when he is ready to pitch and he can't be ready to pitch if he is not in possession of the ball. If a baserunner waits until the pitcher is on the pitching rubber to take a lead off, he will never fall prey to the 'hidden ball trick'.

People also asked