answersLogoWhite

0

Hypothetically, you can have a 0 pitch inning if the first 3 batters of each team refuse to take their position in the batter's box and the umpire calls 3 strikes on each of them. My original answer, at the bottom, is based on ONE HALF OF AN INNING since a full inning is after both teams have had an at-bat. So, technically, you can have a 2 pitch FULL INNING if 2 pitches are delivered to 2 different batters and they fly or ground out, then the other 4 batters step out and refuse to step into the batter's box before the umpire calls all 3 strikes on them.

Acually you can have a 1 pitch innings. You can throw 2 balks, which puts guys on 1st and 2nd base. A balk is not a pitch. Then throw a triple play.

No this is wrong. A balk does not award a batter a base. 3 pitch minimum for an inning.

I once won a prize for this very question. You can get 3 outs on 2 pitches in MLB if: Batter 1 hits first pitch and flies out or gets thrown out at first base. Ditto batter 2. No runners on bases and 2 pitches thrown. Batter 3 steps out of batter's box after pitcher is set on mound and refuses to step back in - Rule 6.02 (c) "If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter's box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter (note: it doesn't say the pitcher has to throw the ball for the strike to be called). The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out." That's 3 outs on 2 pitches.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

ReneRene
Change my mind. I dare you.
Chat with Rene
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
JordanJordan
Looking for a career mentor? I've seen my fair share of shake-ups.
Chat with Jordan
More answers

There are no set number of pitches in each inning.

The absolute shortest number of pitches that could be pitched in one inning is 6, with 3 outs per half-inning, assuming each batter swung at the first pitch resulting in an out.

I don't know the most pitches that have been thrown in one inning. I have watched games where a pitcher (or multiple pitchers) have thrown forty or more pitches in one half-inning alone.

Until 3 outs have been recorded, a pitcher will continue pitching to batters.

If a batter steps into the batters box with an illegal bat, he is immediately called out. If three batters on each team did this, you could have zero pitches thrown in an inning.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you have a 2 pitch inning?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp