answersLogoWhite

0

No, because the third out was made on the same play. It is no different than if the batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop or any other infielder and is thrown out at first base for the third out. However, if there are two outs and there is a runner on third and the batter hits a single into left field but is thrown out at second when attempting to turn the play into a double and the runner on third makes it home before the third out at second is recorded, the run does count. Hope that isn't too confusing.

User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago

What else can I help you with?

Related Questions

When the bases are loaded and 2 out a ball is hit to SS The runner scores before the SS throws the batter out Does the run count?

No the run does not count. An out at any base would be a force out and no runs can score, If the runner scored and the third out is made because a runner is called out on an appeal play such as failure to retouch on a fly ball out or a runner missing a base the run would count


On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.


Does the ghost runner count as an earned run in baseball"?

Yes, a ghost runner does count as an earned run in baseball if they score due to actions that would have resulted in a run being scored by a real runner.


In the MLB if a batter has a full count with one runner on base and the runner is caught stealing to make the last out what happens to batter?

The batter who was at bat when the out was made bats first the next inning... the out was made by the base runner the batter is not penalize for his out ...( the base runner could have made the out at any base and the batter will bat again )


Does batter at bat count if walked on wild pitch and runner on third gets third out trying to steal home?

Anytime a batter is walked it does not count as an at bat


Is the batter out when he hits his own player with a hit ball?

No, the batter is not out. The runner could be out though. For example in Little League if the runner touches the ball before it goes by a fielder, the runner is out. (The pitcher does not count as a fielder for the purpose of the rule) The runner is not out if he/she is touching a base.


Does a fielder's choice count as an out?

I AM A COLLEGE BASEBALL PLAYER ALL INFORMATION HERE IS 100% TRUE. A fielders choice does not count as a hit for the batter even though the batter reaches base safely. It counts as an out for the hitters batting average but RBI's, runs scored, stolen bases and any other effects of the batter reaching base safely count. In essence a fielders choice counts as an out because the fielder could have chose to get the batter out or another runner which means there was an out on the play. Also, you cannot assume a double play even if the ball hit was the easiest 4-6-3 which the fielders made an error on.


Does a sacrifice fly that advances a runner from second to third count as an at bat?

A fly ball that advances a runner from second to third is not counted as a sacrifice fly, and it does count as an at bat. Unless a runner scores on a fly ball, the batter is charged with an at bat.


Runner steals home with two outs and batter hits line drive which is caught but the runner tags home before ball is caught. Does the run count?

Yes it does count cause he scored before the out. If he scores after the out then it doesn't count. It's just like if he stole home plate and during a run down a guy gets caught between bases after. The score happened before the caught line drive. Sorry..the run does not count as the batter hit the pitch for an out. In fact, had there been less than two outs, the runner from third could be thrown out by tagging 3rd before he returned. Think, line drive to a fielder with a runner on any base, and, after the catch, the fielder throws to the base to double up the baserunner. The situation is completely different from the run down situation described above.


In baseball if there are two outs and a runner on third and the batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first does a run score if the runner got home before the batter was thrown out?

nope, as long as you get the out no runs count.


Can a runner score when a batter gets thrown out at first for the third out?

No. A runner can only advance on a fly ball after it is caught. Since there are two outs and the catch of the fly ball would make the third out. A runner cannot score before a fly ball is caught at any time.


2 outs runner on 3b and 1b and batter hits grounder to 2nd who tags runner instead of the base does the run count since both batter and 3b touched before tag?

Yes. On a tag play, if a runner crosses home plate before another runner is tagged for the third out the run counts.