answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

on a batted ball the fielder has the right of way if the fielder is in the basepath and the ball isn't near him the runner has the right of way

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-13 00:39:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Rules of the Road

25 cards

What happens if you have right of way at a four way intersection and you are hit by another car

When entering a bicycle lane to make a right turn within how many feet must you enter the lane before making the turn

Maximum speed limit in California

The speed limit in a business district is

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Cars & Vehicles

26 cards

What is a low beam

The maximum legal speed limit on a rural interstate highway is

When you are approaching a blind curve to warn others that cannot see you coming

What percent of the vehicles involved in motor vehicle crashes in 2005 were passenger cars or light trucks

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the fielder or runner have the right of way?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When fielding a batted ball the fielder must yield to an advancing runner?

No, it's the other way around. The fielder has the right of way on a batted ball, and the runner must yield to the fielder.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


Runner from 2nd base runs into the shortstop fielding the ball is the runner out?

the fielder has the right to field the ball... the runner is OUT if he interferes in ANY way.


Who has the right of way on the base path in Major league baseball?

It depends on the situation. A runner can not interfere with a fielder fielding a ball. If the fielder is not fielding the baseball, then he must get out of the runners way.


Does it count as a hit when the right fielder throws the runner out at first?

No.


If a player is in the line of the runner and the runner runs into the player are they out?

If the fielder is attempting to make a play on a batted ball, and the base runner runs into the fielder, then the runner is out. If there is no play to be made on the ball, and the fielder is standing in the base line and is run into by the base runner, then it is interference on the fielder, and the runner is awarded the next base.


If a infielder boots the ball from out of the base path into the base path and the runner runs in to him while he is trying to field the ball is the runner out?

No, once the fielder comes in contact with the batted ball a runner cannot be called for runner interference unless he intentionally goes out of his way (basepath) to make contact with the fielder


Is the runner out if the runner and fielder incidentally collide?

if the fielder is a) in the baseline, and b) doesn't have the ball, then no. If the runner goes out of the baseline to strike the fielder, he is out for leaving the baseline. If the fielder has the ball, and as a result of the collision he tags the runner, then runner is out. If the fielder has the ball and is trying to tag the runner, but the collision knocks the ball loose, then the runner is out if the umpire felt the contact was intentional, but it is a loose/live ball if the contact was accidental or otherwise part of the game.


Is it an error if the runner and fielder get tangled up and the foul fly ball is dropped by fielder?

No. The runner would be called for interference if, for some reason, he ran into the fielder.


How do you score a missed throw by a fielder during a stolen base?

If the scorer believes that the runner would have been safe either way no error is awarded if the runner does not advance further. If the runner would have been out then the scorer gives the error to either the fielder or the catcher depending on the throw.


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


Does a fielder have to step on the base before making a tag out on the runner?

No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.


If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


How do you determine a fielder's choice vs base hit?

A fielder's choice is when a fielder has choosen to make an out on another runner on base when he could of gotten the batter/runner out instead. The batter/runner is safe, therefore reaching base via a fielder's choice. Please note that this counts as an at-bat and goes against the batter's batting average.


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


When tagging up does the runner have to wait for fielder to have possession or first touch?

The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.


Is a runner out on a force out at second base if the fielder drops the ball after touching second base for the out?

Yes, if the fielder had full possession of the ball when he touched the base the runner is out.


Runner runs into fielder in basepath catching thrown ball?

The runner is out for interference.


Is the runner safe or out if the fielder loses the ball while tagging the runner?

Safe


Does a manager have to appeal a runner not touching a base on his way back?

An appeal has to be made by a fielder, though the Manager can point it out to his fielders.


Is a runner out when running in front of a fielder?

MLB Rule 7.08(b) states: Any runner is out when -- He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball;Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.If an umpire decides that the base runner has "hindered" a fielder by running in front of him, then that runner is out. But this is a judgement call.


Is a runner out if the fielder has the ball and his other hand in his glove when he tags the runner?

So long as the fielder has full possession of the ball the runner is considered out whether the ball is in the glove, in the bare hand, or in the glove covered with the bare hand.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


Does the runner have to be tagged out?

Not always. They can be forced out if there is a runner behind them and the fielder tags the base they were running to.


Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.