answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Yes runner is out (unless the ball has already gone by a fielder other than the pitcher), the ball is dead and the batter/runner gets first base.

Correction:

It is not relevant as if the ball goes past the fielders (only if it touches a fielder first) -- any time a batted ball first hits a runner in fair territory without touching a fielder first -- the runner is out, the putout goes to the nearest fielder, and the batter is still credited with a single and gets 1st base

Correction to the correction:

It does matter if it goes past the fielder first. This is infielders other than the pitcher and catcher. Because the fielders have had the opportunity to make a play on the ball, the ball is no longer dead. The batter would then advance to first at their own risk and the other runners would advance at their own risk too.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-11 20:44:25
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does the batter get first base after he hits the ball which hits his runner going to second?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a runner on third base steal home when the batter gets ball four?

Yes. The game is in play unless someone call time out. Any runner can still advance although if forced, the runner on first or the runners on first and second get free passes. The batter can take his time going to first but all other runners are in play. That's why you never see a catcher trying to catch a the runner going from 1st to second on a steal because on ball 4, if there's an error on the throw, everyone can still advance.


Is it still a force play at second base if the batter reaches first base before the force play is made at second base?

Yes it would still be a force play at 2nd base, since the runner going from 1st to 2nd is required to advance (since the runner going to first, has not been put out yet)


If a batter is tagged out going to first are all other runners forced to run?

no, if there's a runner on first base and the batter gets a strike-out but the catcher drop the ball. he's out because of the runner on first base.


Is the batter out if the batter hits a ball and throws his bat and the bat hits the catcher and as a result the catcher is unable to field a throw for a play at the plate?

Yes. If at any point in a game, the batter or baserunner interferes with the fielder, he is an automatic out. If he impedes the throw to get out another runner, the other runner is out as well. For instance, on a double play, if the runner going to second is already out by force at 2nd, and he plows into the short stop trying to throw the other runner out at first, the runner going to first is also out. The baserunner must always slide or otherwise avoid excessive contact with the fielder on a double play.


Can a runner who went to 2nd base come back to 1st on caught foul tip ball?

If the batter is caught out there is no longer any forces at any base so the runner going to second can go back to first.


Can a runner on 3B score on 2 outs if he crosses the plate before the shortstop throws out the batter at first base fielding ground ball?

No runs score on a play when a third out is made and that third out was a force out, period. A batter-runner being put out prior to touching first base is a force out. If there had been only one out with runners at first and third or first and second and third, putting the batter-runner out before he reaches first base ends the force on the other runners, and so if the defense next also got the runner going to second or to third, on a double-play, the runner from third crossing home before that third out would count, because the third out was not a force out.


Does a run score on a fielders choice when a runner crosses home plate before the force out is recorded?

If the third out is a force play or a fly out, a run can not score, no matter how soon a runner crosses home before that third out. If the batter hits the ball over the outfielder's head with runners on first and third, and the runner on first constantly slips and falls as he runs to second, the fact that the batter got to first and the runner on third got home several seconds before the runner going to second was forced out, is just too bad. It's still a force out, and no run scores.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


Is the batter turned runner out for going into the dugout before reaching first base thinking the play had been madebut first baseman was not on the bag?

in the game of baseball is the batter turned runner automatically out for going into the dugout thinking the play would be made, but the first baseman was never on the bag when the throw was received?


What is a force play for girls fast-pitch softball?

A force play is when the runner on a base is forced to run ahead to the next base when the batter gets a hit. For example, if the batter hits a fair ground ball and there's a runner on first, there is a force play at second because the girl at first is forced to run ahead since the batter is running to first, causing a chain reaction. When in a force play, it is not necessary to tag the runner that is being forced to run ahead since you can just touch the base that they are going to. (in the example above, you could just touch second before the runner gets there and they would be out) If it wasn't a force play, (like if there was only a runner on second) then you would have to tag the girl to get her out. Touching the bag before her wouldn't get her out because she has the option to stay at second.


Two outs man on second Hitter get base hit runner from second is out at plate Hitter is interfered with going to second What is the call?

inning over, interference on batter is irrelevant


When the second base man has the ball and he tags the runner and then the runner pushes him out of the way should that be an ejection?

Not necessarily. If the second baseman has another play to make (throw to first for a double play) the umpire can rule the batter going to first out for interference by the push. the umpire could eject the player if he feels the push was excessive or a flagrant attempt to injure.


With runners on first and third the batter hits a ground ball to the second baseman who tags the runner going to second base before he reaches it does the run count?

Not if that is the 3rd out in the inning...even if he tagged him after the runner reached home... now if the runner over ran the bag and was then tagged the run would count... But in the case of a force out or fielders choice to end the inning the run would not count. It doesn't matter whether the out was recorded by stepping on the base or by tagging the runner. The important thing is that the runner did not reach the base to which he was forced to run. The same would be true if the batter was tagged out while running to first.


If a runner is going to steal from first base to second base and the pitcher throws the ball to the first baseman can the runner run to second instead of going back to first?

Yes. A runner who is picked off first can instead try to take second. This will often happen on a slow move by a left handed pitcher, where the runner thinks the pitcher is throwing home. Sometimes the runner makes it in this case, in which case it is scored as a stolen base. The first baseman often needs to take a few steps towards the pitcher rather than wait at first base for the ball to arrive in order to have enough time to throw out the runner.


If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to third base?

Fielder has the right to occupy the territory necessary to field the ball, runner must give right of way to the fielder. In this case, runner is out.


In baseball what is the extra line-box going down the first base line and what is the ruling for a batter-runner going to first base Does he have to stay within that box?

That extra line creates a "running box". When a batter puts the ball in play, while running to first base he must run in that box until reaching first. If not, he may be called for interferrence should a fielder, usually the catcher, throw to first and hit the batter/runner if he is outside the box in fair or foul territory.


When if ever would a batter sign or signal to a coach or his team mates?

One time would be after the third base coach goes through the set of signals telling the batter and baserunner(s) what the play is going to be. The batter might touch his helmet or grab a handful of dirt to signify that he understood the signal or hitch up his pants to signify that he did not understand the signal. Another time might be when a batter notices the third baseman playing deep and/or off the line and he thinks he might be able to drop a bunt down and get on base. If there is a runner on the batter might give a signal that he is going to attempt to lay down a bunt. Base runners will do this also, especially when there is a runner on first and no other runners on. The runner might notice something in the pitcher's delivery that would give him an advantage if he tried to steal second base. The runner might give a signal that he is going to attempt a steal on the next pitch.


When is a baserunner not protected after reaching first base for example after a batter-runner safely reaches first base and turns in foul territory when is he no longer protected?

After a batter has hit a ball and runs to first base he is allowed to over run the bag (base) ... If the base runner turns left in the siltiest way it is seen as if his going for 2nd base (even if he walks back to first) he can be tagged out ...


How can you have batters interference on ball four with a runner on first?

the ball is not dead on ball four its still alive the runner at first is going to second. so im not sure how the question should be answerd the way your looking for it to be.


Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


What defensive play ends an inning with three successful outs?

A triple play. Ex. Man on first and second, ball hit to shortstop, who tags runner going to third, throws to second for force at second, second baseman throws to first for force out at first.


What is the scoring decision if a batter hits a ground ball to shortstop with runners on second and third and the runner on second collides with the fielder as he is going to thisd base?

Its basically the same thing as being tagged. If he has the ball still in his possesion and the runner collides. Its an out. Same concept when a runner is running home and the catcher is attempting a tag out because they are off the plate. Collisions happen. But if the ball is in a glove... the collision is also considered an out.


Does the run count if the runner from third crosses the plate and the batter is thrown out going for a double?

Yes


Runners on third and second fielder's choice runner tagged going to third base the run that was on third crossed the plate before the tag does the run count?

No, the play was completed. It would count if the original play was not completed and the runner on second ran back to second, causing a run down and tag as a secondary play. -----Yes, the run counts. The only situation where a run doesn't count when a runner crosses home plate before the third out is recorded is on a force play. For example: the bases are loaded and there are two out. The batter hits a single to right field. The runner from third base scores. The runner on first heads for second and halfway there turns an ankle and falls to the ground. If the right fielder can get the ball back into second before the runner gets up and makes it to second, the runner is out on a force play and all runs that scored before the third out was recorded are disallowed. But, in your question, there is no force play involved therefore the run would count.