The football need only "break the plane of the goal line". If any part of the ball crosses the goalline, it's a touchdown. The entire ball does not have to cross.
Yes in order for it to be ruled a touchdown the ball must cross the plain of the goal in order for it to be ruled a touchdown
no , the tip of the ball must clearly cross the plane.
The team that has the ball has to cross the touchdown plain (white line) and still have possession.
The rules say that no matter where the player is, the ball MUST cross the plane of the end zone. NOTE: It was a touchdown today because the ball did cross the plane.
football is the child of rugby. When you score in rugby you would have to touch the ball down to the ground, hence the word touchdown.
In the earliest days of American football, a "touchdown" required that the ball physically touch the ground beyond the goal line. This requirement was removed from the rules in 1889, but the name stuck.
No, the ball does not have to cross the goal line in the FOP to score a touchdown. The GL extends outside of the pylons and in theory, go around the world. If the ball breaks the plane of the GL extended, it is necessary in the NFL to have any part of the ball carrier's body cross over the pylon or inside the pylon, even though the ball crosses outside of the pylon.
No unless the ball lands in the touchdown
In the first days of football when a ball carrier crossed the goal line he would touch the ball to the ground. The touching of the ball to the ground for the score was called a "TOUCHDOWN". This rule still applies in rugby, where a player doesn't score unless he touches the ball to the ground.
you just answered your own question. as long as a player is in bounds with control of the ball as it crosses the plane then it is a touchdown. if the ball does not cross the plane but a player does then it is not a td. if the ball is beyond the plane and out of bounds but the player has his feet in bounds with control of the ball it is a td.
If any part of the ball crosses any part of the goalline it is a touchdown. But if even the very tip of the ball is an inch short of the goaline it is not a TD.