answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-22 02:33:32
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a runner from third score on a sac fly if a runner from first is thrown out trying to get back to first because he did not tag up and is the third out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you get 6 hits and no runs?

yes, single, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance from first to third, 1 out, single and the runner is thrown out trying to advance to third, 2 out, single runner to 2nd, single runners to second and third, a line drive to left and they throw the runner out going to second but it is ruled a single.


Does a runner on first have to advance on a ground ball?

Actually it is possible for a runner on first not to advance on a ground ball, though it is very unlikely. If the hitter is thrown out at first base on a force play before the runner on first is thrown out, he can return to first base if at all possible.


If there are two outs in the inning and there is a person on second with a full count and he steals and the batter walks can the runner get thrown out at third?

The runner on second base can be thrown out provided that first base is empty


Runner going to first and ball is thrown into dugout how many bases awarded?

ONE (1)... and one (1) for every base runner ... two (2) if the ball is thrown in the stands ...


With a runner on first base the pitcher overthrows ball to first where should the runner be awarded?

The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


Can a runner on first base be thrown out if he is attempting to steal second base on ball four?

No. After ball four is thrown to the batter it is a base on balls. The batter is entitled to first base, and any base runner forced ahead may advance. Even if the runner on first is attempting to steal on the pitch, he is awarded second base and cannot be thrown out. Of course the runner from first is award second base, but is only protected up to the base. If he overruns or overslides the second base because in his steal attempt he was not paying attention, he can be tagged out if he is off the bag.


Does run on third on third count Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught in outfield runner on third tags runner on first leaves early ball is thrown to first for inning ending double play?

first base was a force out so the run shouldn't count, As an example if the runner on first had tagged and tried to take second base and was thrown out after the run scored then the run would stand, because the base runner put themselves in jeopardy of being put out


In baseball if there are two outs and a runner on third and the batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first does a run score if the runner got home before the batter was thrown out?

nope, as long as you get the out no runs count.


when a runner on second base ground ball to third base and the batter is thrown out at first?

Runner stays on second base if he is smart. That is a 5 to 3 out.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


Runner on third taking a lead is hit by a thrown ball from catcher while in fair territory is he safe or out?

He is out for interfering with a thrown ball while running out of the baseline. The same is true with a runner running to first base. Tom Seaver said that when he saw a runner running to first in fair territory he would throw the ball into his back to get the quick out.


Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught and runner on first goes to second without tagging up and is thrown out at first does the run count?

No. On any play if there is a force out on any base, the run scoring does not count. If the runner on first tagged up and then was tagged out at second, while trying to advance, and the runner touched home plate before the runner was tagged out at second then the run would have counted. The above answer is incorrect. The run does count because it is technically not a force out. It goes under the off the base category. The runner is returning to the bag, he is not forced to proceed to the next bag which negates the run from scoring.

People also asked