answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-12 13:08:56
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does a base runner have to retag the base on every pitch?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Should a base runner re-tag after each pitch?

NO, a runner does not have to go back and touch the base after every pitch


In fast pitch baserunner is stealing on pitch but the ball gets away from catcher does the base runner stealing get credit for stolen base?

yes, the base runner stealing does get credit for the stolen base.


Does the runner need to touch the base on every pitch?

Actually there is no rule in the Major League Rules that the runner has to touch base after each pitch. He must after a foul ball or caught fly ball. Even though runners in almost all leagues do touch after each pitch including the major's it is not a rule in Official Rules: 7.00 The Runner that he must: (See related Link)


On an attempted squeeze play runner on 3rd base is trying to steal home batter is hit by the pitch is the runner entitled to score or is he asked to return to 3rd base?

When a batter gets hit by a pitch the runner or runners must go back to their base unless they have to move to forcefully move. now with a base on balls the runner can still steal the base


In machine pitch softball can a runner steal a base?

NO


When should a baserunner may run to the next base without being dismissed?

There are a few times a base runner may advance without fear of being put out. If the base runner is forced to the next base by a batter/runner being walked or hit by a pitch and for an illegal pitch being called on the pitcher.


When do you pitch from the windup?

Generally, only when there are no runners on base. However, you could also pitch from the windup when there is a runner only on third base, or on 2nd and 3rd, or when the bases are loaded. Pitching from the windup can be a problem with a runner on third because this will allow the runner to get a longer lead off the base than the lead the runner will get when the pitcher pitches from the stretch.


If a pitcher starts from stretch and comes to the set position runner steals second base and touches it pitcher delivers pitch and it's fouled off does runner go back to first base?

Yes, the runner would go back to 1st base if the batter fouls off the pitch.


What are RBI s in girls fast-pitch softball?

when theres a base runner on a base.. the batter hits the softball and trys to get to a base while the base runner at 3rd or 2nd run home and get a point


Does a runner have to retouch the base before the pitcher throws the next pitch if the previous pitch was fouled out of play?

no they do not


Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.


If runner scores on wild pitch is it a earned run?

Yes, as long as the runner got on base cleanly (ie: not on an error)


In slow pitch with stealing may a runner advance on and illegal pitch?

yes, on an illegal pitch the upmire will let you advance a base.


Can a base runner pass another base runner?

No they can not, and if a base runner does pass another base runner that base runner would be called out.


What is an errant pitch that the catcher cannot be expected to catch and that allows a base runner to advance a base?

missed third strike No, a Wild Pitch.


If a Batter is hit by pitch with runner on second base as runner steals third is this legal?

Nope, when the batter is hit it is a dead ball.


What is an errant pitch that the catcher cannot be expected to cathc and that allows a base runner to advance a base?

intentional walk?


When a pitcher is in the set position and his left foot crosses the pitching rubber with a runner on second base does he have to throw to second?

Assuming he is right-handed, and if there is a runner on second base, he can either throw to second base or pitch.


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


Can runners advance on wild pitch that goes out of play?

The runner is awarded one base


If A runner on first base is stealing second base and touches the base before the ball is pitched the batter fouls off the pitch must the runner return to first base?

No...as long as the pitcher has not begun his pitching motion. If the player reaches the next base before the pitcher moves his feet to start his motion, that player is entitled to the base he/she reached no matter the outcome of the following pitch.


What is the penalty for an illegal pitch in little league fast pitch softball?

If no one is on base then a ball is awarded to the batter. If a runner or runners are on base then they will be moved up one base and a ball is awarded to the batter.


Can a runner on third base steal home on a dropped third strike?

Yes, if it just merely a dropped 3rd strike and he is safe, then he will be credited with a steal, however, if the pitch is ruled a passed ball or wild pitch, then the runner will not be credited with a stolen base, but rather just advancing on a passed ball/wild pitch


Why do you get to run to first base after a dropped third strike?

The ball is still on play on a dropped-third strike and a runner can attempt to reach first base as long as a runner doesn't occupy first base prior to the dropped pitch.


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.