answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If a foul ball is not caught in the air, the ball is dead, so there would be no tag up opportunity. If it is caught in the air, the runners can tag up and advance at their own risk.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-12-06 04:25:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Do you have to tag up after a foul ball even if it not caught?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can you tag up and run on a foul ball?

yes u can tag on a foul ball if it is caught in foul territory


Can you steal a base on a foul ball?

An uncaught foul ball is dead. If a foul ball is caught, runners can steal, but have the same tag up responsibilities as a fair caught ball.


In softball can you run on a foul?

Yes you can tag up and advance on a caught foul ball.


Can you tag up if the ball is caught at the pitchers mound on a pop up?

You can tag up on any popup or flyball no matter where it is caught, even if it is caught in foul territory. Now it might not be the smartest thing to tag up on a ball popped up to the pitcher though, but you can do it if you want


Is it a sacrifice fly if it is a foul ball and the foul ball is caught?

No. But it is an RBI if a runner scores on the play.But if he doesn't tag up he's out if they throw it to the base he was at.


Can a base runner be thrown out if a foul ball is hit?

Yes, the ball is still considered foul if the a player catches it. They can be thrown out when trying to tag after the fly ball is caught.


In baseball and you're on base and a foul ball is caught can you tag up?

Yes, you may tag up and advance at your own risk.


When can a runner advance after a fly ball has been caught?

Any fly ball, fair or foul, is a live ball when it is caught therefore any runners may tag up and advance at their own risk.


In major league baseball can a runner tag up and take the next base on a foul ball that is legally caught?

Yes. A runner may tagup and attempt to advance after any fly ball is caught, regardless of whether it is fair or foul.


Can a runner tag and run on a foul ball which is caught and dropped?

If the ball is held long enough to have possession and called an out then yes. If the ball is not held long enough for an out to be called then no.


Do you need to tag up for a foul ball?

Yes.


Does a baserunner have to tag up after a foul ball?

No, it is optionalaction. The base runner can tag up anytime a fly ball is hit out of the infield. They can't tag up on a fly ball hit in the infield. They also can tag up on a foul ball hit anywhere on the field but they don't have to.


If a fielder catches a foul ball can the runners tag up?

Yes. Runners may tag up and attempt to advance on any fly ball, fair or foul.


There is 1 out with a man on third 2 strikes on the batter The batter attempts a bunt that goes foul behind first base no one catches it the batter is out Can the runner from 3rd base advance?

NO. A runner cannot advance on a foul ball that is not "played" (i.e. if a foul fly ball is CAUGHT, the runner may tag up). A foul bunt on a 2 strike count is a dead ball out.


Can someone tag up on a ball caught in fowl territory?

yes he can tag up


Do you have to tag up on a hit?

No, only on a ball that is caught in the air


When a foul ball is hit does a base runner occupying second base have to return and touch that base?

The base runner can not advance on a foul ball, he must return to the base he was at before the foul ball was hit. A base runner may advance on a caught foul ball, but must tag up and advance only after the ball is touched by a defensive player. To answer your original question, yes, all base runners must return to the base they occupied prior to the foul, and must touch that base before play is continued.


Why do sportscasters distinguish between a fly ball caught in foul and fair territory. Don't the same tag-up rules apply and if not whats the difference?

The same tag up rules apply. My guess is that the announcer is simply giving as much detail as possible about the fly ball.


When a foul ball is hit does the base runner have to touch the base?

Yes. He must tag the base.


Is a foul tip strike a dead ball?

A foul tip is a live ball if the catcher catches the ball. Otherwise, it is a dead ball.According to the rules set by Major League Baseball:A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand.6.05 A batter is out when-(b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher;Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound.If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first.Rule 7.08(d) Comment: Runners need not "tag up" on a foul tip. They may steal on a foul tip. If a so-called tip is not caught, it becomes an ordinary foul. Runners then return to their bases.5.09 The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when-(g) A pitched ball lodges in the umpire's or catcher's mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, runners advance one base;Rule 5.09(g) Comment: If a foul tip hits the umpire and is caught by a fielder on the rebound, the ball is "dead" and the batsman cannot be called out. The same shall apply where such foul tip lodges in the umpire's mask or other paraphernalia.


Why do you wear tags in tag rugby?

When the tag is caught by an opposing player the ball is then passed from the attacker to the defending team.


If a runner on first touches second before the pitcher releases the ball must he return to first if the batter fouls off the pitch?

Yes. If the foul ball is caught in the air by a fielder the play is live and the runner may be thown out at first if he does not return in time. If the foul ball hits the ground before being caught, or goes into the stands, it is a dead ball. In either case the player must return to first. He may also tag up at first and advance to second on a foul ball that is caught by a fielder. In addition, if the runner has touched second base and rounded the bag, he must re-touch second before returning to first.


What is a 'tag run' in softball?

when someone hits the ball and it is caught, the runner(s) on base can "tag" the base they are on once it is caught and then run to the next base. If they tag 3rd base and run home to score it is the tag run.


When must a base runner tag up to advance to the next base?

When the batter hits a fly ball and there are less than 2 out the runners have to stay where they are until either the ball is caught or until they know for a fact that the ball won't be caught. If the ball is caught, they have to tag up, otherwise they can just keep on running.


Does runner need to tag up if a ball is caught after a rebound from another player?

Runners may tag up and advance after the first fielder touches the ball.