answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

when the batter swings and hits the catchers glove it is called catchers interference and the batter goes to first base. so if there are any runners on first or first and second or they are loaded then yes they advance. If the runners are on second or second and third or just third they dont advance because there is an open bag.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-15 03:56:12
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Do runners advance when batter hits catchers glove?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What happens if you throw your glove at the ball?

The batter may advance three bases if the thrown glove touches a batted ball, and runners may advance three bases. The ball is live and in play.The batter may advance two bases if the thrown glove touches a thrown ball, and runners may advance two bases. The ball is live and in play.


If you throw your baseball glove at a ball during the game and catch it is it an out?

No. According to MLB Rule 7.05(c), the batter and all runners may advance three bases when: "a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril."


Is a batter awarded a base if the batter swings and hits catchers glove after ball has passed?

ya....if they swing and hit the glove then its called catcher interference. the batter then gets to go to first base


Is it catcher interference if the batter fouls the ball and then hits the catchers glove on the follow through of the swing?

No


If there is a foul tip into the catchers glove and is caught can the runner advance to the next base?

A Foul Tip, which is different than a Foul, is a live ball, and runner's can advance.


When the batter hits the ball on the 3rd strict but lands directly in the catchers glove is he out?

Yea its a caught foul tip


What is the best catchers glove?

akadema Gary carter glove


What is the call if the batter hits the catchers glove on a backswing?

no call. it is only catcher's interference if the catcher's equipment gets in the way of a swing.


How can we insulate the catchers glove so it doesn't hurt when we catch a fast pitch?

There is a glove made just for this purpose. It looks like a batting glove that has a good amount of padding. It's referred to as a catchers protective inner glove.


Player throws his glove at a baseball does not hit ball?

Nothing happens but it reflects poorly on the player throwing the glove. If he does hit the ball with his glove a dead ball is called and the runners advance two bases and the fielder is charged with an error.


Does a runner have to tag up to advance if an outfielder juggles the flyball?

Once the ball is first touched on the fly by a player, runners can begin to advance. For example, if a line drive caroms off the glove of the second basemen and flies out to the right fielder who catches it on the fly, runners would only have to tag up until the ball hit the second basemen's glove.


What happens if the hitter hits the catcher's glove during his swing and also hits the ball?

As soon as the bat hits the glove, the ball is dead. The batter is awarded first base, no matter if s/he hit the ball or not. ---------- Above is incorrect. The play is not necessarily immediately dead on catcher's interference. If the batter puts the ball into play, the umpire lets the play continue until all action has stopped before calling time. The Manager of the team at bat then has a choice of either taking the result of the play, or having the catcher's interference enforced, which would put the batter on 1B, and all runners forced to advance would advance. However, if the batter reaches base safely, and all other runners advance at least one base, then the interference is ignored.


Can you use a first basemans glove anywhere on the field?

No, same goes for catchers gloves, only a first baseman can use a trapper and only a catcher can use a catchers glove


Can a high school softball catchers mitt be white?

yes, a high school softball catchers glove can be white.


Can a player throw his glove at a baseball?

No. MLB Rule 7.05c states: "Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance three bases if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril."


When was the first catchers glove worn in a baseball game?

1877


What do catchers ware under there MIT?

some catchers wear batting gloves underneath their gloves, while others don't wear anything. i personally like to go glove-less underneath my glove


What the equipment in baseball?

For a typical fielder just a glove, bat , helmet, batting gloves and cleats but for catchers the require a chest protector knee pads catchers mitt and catchers helmet


What size catchers glove does yadier molina use?

34 inches


Which brand of catchers glove is most commonly used in the MLB?

Wilson


Why is it better to have a catchers mitt rather than a regular glove?

It is better to have a catchers glove because it has a pocket for the ball to fit better and some gloves even have a different color on the sides to make a frame for the pitcher


What is the penalty for a fielder throwing his glove at a batted or thrown ball?

MLB Rule 7.05(c) rules about throwing a glove at a fair ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril ". MLB Rule 7.05(e) rules about throwing a glove at a thrown ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play; "


How do you re-lace a catchers glove?

Can be a very difficult process. Best to leave it to professionals glove craftsmen like Akadema Inc.


What equipment do they use for baseball?

for catchers, the use knee pads, a chest protector. a helmet and a catchers mitt other players wear a hat and have a glove


What safety equipment must be worn by a softball catcher?

usually catchers wear a chest pad, leg pads, and a helmet, and they also have a catchers glove