answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Probably not...but, it really depends on the Official Scorers decision. Was the fielder bobbling the ball when he ran into the wall? Did crashing into the wall actually cause the fielder to drop the ball? Before a scorer can make such a call, he must witness the event...this is true on almost all scoring decisions.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Center fielder drops ball when he runs into wall is it and error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


What does an error in baseball consist of?

The definition of an error in baseball would be when a fielder misplays a ball that allows a batter or base runner to advance one or more additional bases when a regular or ordinary play would have prevented the advancement. An error can be when a fielder drops a fly ball, makes a poor throw, or isn't able to field an easy ground ball.


Where is the infraction regarding overthrown ball?

If it is the fielder that overthrows the ball it is an error on the fielder. If the pitcher overthrows the ball while pitching it is a wild pitch.


Is it a home run if ball is caught and the fielder falls into stands?

If he drops it yes


Is it an out if the defensive player catches the ball then drops his glove but the ball remains in the glove?

No, the glove is considered an extension of the fielder's hand so if the glove comes off the fielder is deemed to have dropped the ball.


Can a fielder be given an error for communication mistake on fly ball?

yes the error would go to the person closest to the ball, if any error would be "awarded"


Can an error be charged if nobody reaches or is on base?

Yes. If a fielder drops a foul ball, that is counted as an error, even though the batter does not advance to first. MLB Rule 10.12 (a) (2) is pretty clear: The official scorer shall charge an error against any fielder: .. (2) when such fielder muffs a foul fly to prolong the time at bat of a batter, whether the batter subsequently reaches first base or is put out;


Is it an error if the runner and fielder get tangled up and the foul fly ball is dropped by fielder?

No. The runner would be called for interference if, for some reason, he ran into the fielder.


Is it always an error when the fielder touches the ball with his glove?

no when you are diving and that stuff is a hit if they drop it


If you drop a fly ball in foul territory is it an error?

No. An error is defined as a misplay that allows one or more baserunners to advance an extra base. In this case, the ball would simply be declared foul. Scorer rule 10.12 says that a fielder can be charged with an error if he drops a fly foul ball because it prolongs the 'at bat' of the hitter. The hitter does not have to reach base and the runners, if any, need not advance for an error to be charged.


When tagging up does the runner have to wait for fielder to have possession or first touch?

The fielder has to have the ball in his possession but if he drops it he doesn't have to tag up. Actually, the fielder doe NOT have to have possession of the ball for a base runner to tag up and advance. Once the runner is on the base ("tagging up") he may advance as soon as the fielder touches the ball, whether he has possession or not. In other words, the base runner may advance even if the fielder is bobbling the ball and then catches it, i. e. has possession.


What is a fielding error?

if a ball is hit to the any fielder and it hits any part of his body and he misses. if aresult of that is the base runner is safe. that is a error