answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Not in high school or college or MLB. There could be local slowpitch softball leagues that have a rule like that but there is no such rule in Baseball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Only if 1) the fourth foul is caught in the air, or 2) the fourth foul is bunted foul.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you strike out by four foul balls?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Do 3 foul balls equal 3 strikes?

yes and no. a foul ball on the third strike goes uncaught then it is not a third strike. if a foul ball is caught on the third strike, including a foul tip, the batter is out.


Why are balls called balls when referring to balls and strikes?

A "strike" is a "fair ball" -- one that passed through the strike zone. A "foul ball" is one that passed outside of the strike zone. "Foul" is also used to refer to a ball that hits the batter. Baseball commentators got into the habit of saying "ball!" instead of "foul ball" to avoid a lengthy explanation of exactly what happened.


Are foul balls added to a pitch count?

yes excepet for one strike two


Why are two strike foul balls not included when calculating a pitchers total pitches in a game?

They are included.


Is foul ball counted as a strike?

It depends on how the game is being played. Most of the time, foul balls don't count as a strike; you can hit a ton of foul balls while you're up to bat and it won't matter. If you're playing a strict game of baseball, though, if you go up to bat and hit two foul balls, they count as strikes. Then, if you miss the ball or whatever, that would be your third strike. And you're out. :) Foul balls count as strikes when every the batter does not have two strikes, once a batter gets two strikes foul balls are no longer counted as strikes.


Is a foul ball is counted as a strike?

The first two foul balls count as strikes 1 and 2. After that, it is not a strike.


How many fouls make an out in softball?

You gain a strike from the first two balls that you foul off. After that, you have to get a legitimate strike (no fouls since they no longer count as an out) to become out.


What Comes first balls or strikes?

When the umpire or TV announcer calls the ball and strike count, the balls come first. If you hear the announcer say something like "The count on the batter is 2 and 1" this means there are 2 balls and 1 strike.


What is the limit of foul balls allowed in softball?

There is no limit on the number of foul balls.


How many balls and strikes in a full count?

In baseball, this is when the batter has a 'count' of three balls and two strikes. It is called a full count because the batter cannot get another ball or strike without the at bat ending ... one more ball will cause a base on balls (walk) and one more strike will be a strikeout.


Abbreviation for a batter that receives four balls?

When a batter gets 4 balls and is walked it is scored "BB" for base on balls


If a softball player is at bat and the count is four balls and two strikes the play will do what?

if he gets a strike he is out. and after 4 balls you walk