Can the batter's box be stepped on by the batter?

User Avatar

Wiki User

2014-03-15 14:51:41

Best Answer

It has to be okay. The batter isn't allowed to step anywhere else while he's batting. If you're talking about the chalk lines around the batter's box, yes. They are a part of his boundaries and he can touch them with his foot.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2014-03-15 14:51:41
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can the batter's box be stepped on by the batter?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How do you use batter's box in a sentence?

"The crowd cheered as the team's star player stepped into the batter's box."

Is it a strikeout if a batter steps on the plate?

One Answer:Before the hit yes. After no. the home plate is in fair territory between the batters box and first base so it is often stepped on, however the batter must hit the ball while inside the batters box. Correct Answer:There is no rule in MLB prohibiting a batter from stepping on home plate.

Batter hits the ball with one foot out of the batters box?

The batter is out.

Is the batters box fair territory?

No, the batter's box is in foul territory.

What player takes the psotion in the batters box?

The batter.

What player takes position in the batters box?

The batter

What is the official scoring when a batter makes contact while stepping out of the batters box?

If the batter is outside of the box when contact is made, the batter is out.

What are the dimensions of the batters box?

Batter's BoxThe batter's box is 4' x 6' and is 6 inches from the plate.

Is batter out of batters box if he has not touched ground on contact of ball?


Is batter out if he gets hit by ball ouside batter box is he out?

if he is the batter and INSIDE the batters box he gets 1 st base.....if he is outside of the batters box then he does not get 1st base. it becomes a judgment call if the ump calls it a ball,strike or called time.

Does th batter have to attempt to move from the batters box if a runner is stealing from second to third?

No the batter has to make no effort to move out of the batters box, because most of the time it would have been a swing and a miss, and the catcher will go around the batter too make the throw, and usually the batter will stay in the box as an obstacle to the catcher.

Runner stealing third base batter stands in batters box catchers arm hit batter in head is runner out?

no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.

People also asked