answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

..

User Avatar

Wiki User

βˆ™ 2012-06-05 19:58:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is batter out of batters box if he has not touched ground on contact of ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When a tornado has not touched the ground yet what is it called?

A tornado that has touched the ground is called a funnel cloud.


Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.


What happens when a ball is droped and it hits the ground?

For a batted fly ball that is dropped: If it was first touched in foul territory, it is a foul ball. If it was first touched in fair territory and falls to the ground NOT in out-of-play territory, it is a fair ball and is in play. If it was first touched in fair territory and falls to the ground in out-of-play territory, it is a dead ball and the batter and any runners will be awarded the appropriate base according to the rules.


When was Boys the Old Flag Never Touched the Ground created?

Boys the Old Flag Never Touched the Ground was created in 1918.


What is the difference between a funnel cloud and a tornado?

A tornado has actually touched down on the ground - a funnel cloud is a spinning cloud that has not actually touched the ground.


Is a batter hit by a bouncing pitched ball awarded 1st base?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


What do you call water that has not touched the ground?

Its called as surface water.


If A batter hits a line drive that hits a base on a fly and is caught is the batter out?

No the batter is not out- The bag is on the ground and that is considered a bounce off the ground.


What if a batter bunts a ball and both feet are out of the batters box and the ball is foul what is the rule?

MLB rule 6.06 states: A batter is out for illegal action when- He hits a ball with one or both feet on the ground entirely outside the batter's box. Comment: If a batter hits a ball fair or foul while out of the batter's box, he shall be called out.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter?

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


If a line drive goes into the pitchers jersey is it an out?

A batter-runner is ruled out if any fielder gains full, controlled possession of the live baseball in flight. If a hit baseball were to hit off the head of one fielder, and be caught by another fielder who gained controlled possession before the ball touched the ground or a wall, the batter would be out. So the assumed conclusion would be that yes, if the pitcher were able to reach into his uniform and gain full, controlled possession of the baseball before it touched the ground, the batter would be out. It would be like any other bobbled ball that was eventually controlled before touching the ground. However, there may be specific ground rules relating to a player's uniform.

People also asked